Silver Palm Awards 2022-2023 Honorees Announced!

This year's honorees, along with all those who participate in creating theater in South Florida, will be feted at a gala dinner.

By: Sep. 25, 2023
Silver Palm Awards 2022-2023 Honorees Announced!

Silver Palm Awards 2022-2023 Honorees Announced!

The Silver Palm Awards will be returning to The Addison of Boca Raton on Monday, October 16, 2023 at 6:30 p.m., when the recipients of this year's awards will be honored. The Silver Palms Awards were established in 2008, conceived to celebrate the work of theater artists who live in South Florida.

This year's honorees, along with all those who participate in creating theater in South Florida, will be feted at a gala dinner that includes a complimentary specialty cocktail hour, full dinner, the presentation of the awards and dancing afterwards. Tickets for the event are $50 (a $125 value) or $500 for a table of ten. The Addison of Boca Raton is located at 2 E. Camino Real in Boca Raton. The Silver Palm Awards Gala is sponsored by the Tony Finstrom Fund at Our Fund and Mark Traverso and Conor Walton.

Tickets can be reserved at

This year the awards were expanded to include and honor more unique and non-traditional contributions to our community. Judges from across Miami-Dade, Palm Beach and Broward Counties helped choose the honorees. Judges - consisting of professionals working in all aspects of the theater industry, as well as devoted, knowledgeable patrons - attended a cumulative 478 performances this season. Votes are weighted by how many shows each judge saw, and honorees confirmed by a select committee.

The Silver Palm 2022-2023 Judging Panel:
*designates select committee member

Barbara Bradshaw, actor
• Mary Damiano, arts journalist
• *Christine Dolen, theatre critic
Niki Fridh, actor
• Bianca Garcia, actor
Patti Gardner, actor
• Carey Brianna Hart, actor/director
• *Luis Roberto Hererra, playwright/actor/theatre critic
• Bill Hirschman, theatre critic
• Lee Rubin, sponsor
• *Karen Stephens, actor
Michelle Solomon, arts journalist
• *John Thomason, theatre critic
• Gaby Tortoledo, actor
James White III, actor
• Kent Chambers-Wilson, actor/director
• *Sandi Stock, Silver Palm Awards Managing Director


• Angie Radosh, Outstanding Performance, One More Yesterday, Ronnie Larsen Presents/Plays of Wilton
• Autumn Kioti, Outstanding Performance, Rotterdam, Island City Stage
• Bari Newport & Karina Batchelor, Commitment to Dramaturgical Excellence, Gablestage
• Bill Hayes, Outstanding Director, August, Osage County, Palm Beach Dramaworks
• Create Dangerously, Outstanding Cultural Contribution, Miami New Drama
• David Hart, Outstanding Sound Design, Pageant, Rotterdam, Tracy Jones, Thrill Me, Island City Stage
• Elizabeth Price, Outstanding Performance, What the Constitution Means to Me, City Theatre
• Frank J. Oliva, Outstanding Set Design, Little Mermaid, Area Stage; Native Gardens, Gablestage
• Jerel Brown, Outstanding Performance, Mlima's Tale, Zoetic Stage
• Jordon Armstrong, Outstanding Special Effect, Grand Horizons, Boca Stage
• Karen Stephens, Outstanding Performance, Time Alone, Boca Stage
• LakehouseRanchDotPNG, Outstanding New / Emerging Theatre Company
• Little Mermaid, Outstanding Immersive Theatre Experience, Area Stage
• Matt Stabile, Outstanding Director, Red Riding Hood, Dorothy's Dictionary, Last Night in Inwood, Theatre Lab
• Melquisedel Dominguez Cadena, Outstanding Set Design, Red Speedo, Ronnie Larsen Presents/Plays of Wilton
• Michael McKeever, Outstanding New Work, American Rhapsody, Zoetic Stage
• Nate Promkul, Outstanding Performance, Next to Normal, Zoetic Stage; Newsies on-stage understudy, Slow Burn Theatre Company
• Next to Normal, Outstanding Production, Zoetic Stage
• Palm Beach Dramaworks, Excellence in Ensemble Casting, 12 Angry Men, August, Osage County
• Paul Curtis & Hola Hi, Outstanding Original Music Contribution to SFL Theatre Community
• Refuge, Outstanding Production, Theatre Lab
• Rick Peña, Outstanding Costume Design, Newsies, Slow Burn Theatre Company
• Roderick Randle, Outstanding Breakout Performance, Topdog/Underdog, Main Street Players
• Ronnie Larsen, Outstanding Multi-disciplinary Work, Producer, Director, Playwright, and Actor
• Stuart Meltzer, Outstanding Director, Next to Normal, American Rhapsody, Zoetic Stage; The Actors, Red Speedo, Ronnie Larsen Presents/Plays of Wilton

Tony Finstrom, Iris Acker and Ron Levitt co-founded the awards in 2008 as a way to celebrate excellence in South Florida theater. Fashioned after New York’s Off-Broadway Obie Awards, the Silver Palms do not designate nominees, and they place no limit on the number of citations that might be given in any “category.” In truth, there are no official categories. Silver Palm judges submit 10 recommendations to the Silver Palm Executive Committee, citing the artists they feel should be recognized as having made an “Outstanding Contribution to the South Florida Theater Season.” All submissions are tallied and scored. The theater artists with the highest scores are awarded the honor. After his passing, Mr. Finstrom designated Andy Rogow and Michael McKeever as the co-chairs of the Awards, requesting that they continue his legacy of supporting the community and honoring its artists. Sandi Stock oversees the awards as Managing Director.

BroadwayWorld Awards Voting


Gavin Jordan Unveils Hoping for Todays Tomorrow Masterpiece Series at Spectrum Miami Art F Photo
Gavin Jordan Unveils 'Hoping for Today's Tomorrow' Masterpiece Series at Spectrum Miami Art Fair

Renowned Jamaican artist Gavin Jordan unveils 'Hoping for Today's Tomorrow' at Spectrum Art Fair. Discover the captivating works of this talented artist at Marie Fine Art Gallery.

DISENCHANTED Returns to MNM Theatre Company in January Photo
DISENCHANTED Returns to MNM Theatre Company in January

   Disenchanted, the fun-loving, subversive, and definitely not-for-the kiddies’ musical revue that proves happily-ever-after can be a ‘royal pain in the ass’, will be presented once again by Marcie Gorman and MNM Theatre Company.

Palm Beach Symphonys Adventures Of Peter And The Wolf Receives Broadcast Premiere Photo
Palm Beach Symphony's Adventures Of Peter And The Wolf Receives Broadcast Premiere

Palm Beach Symphony's 'The Adventures of Peter and the Wolf' receives broadcast premiere in December, narrated by Jon Secada. Don't miss this musical masterpiece on South Florida PBS.

2024 YoungArts Award Winners Revealed Photo
2024 YoungArts Award Winners Revealed

The 2024 YoungArts Award winners have been revealed, recognizing the most accomplished young artists from across the United States.

More Hot Stories For You


Arthur & Friends Make a Musical! in Miami Metro Arthur & Friends Make a Musical!
Actors’ Playhouse at the Miracle Theatre (1/13-2/24)
Charlotte's Web in Miami Metro Charlotte's Web
Miami Theater Center (1/27-1/27)
Rosie Revere, Engineer & Friends in Miami Metro Rosie Revere, Engineer & Friends
Miami Theater Center (4/20-4/20)
A Chorus Line in Miami Metro A Chorus Line
Lauderhill Performing Arts Center (1/11-1/28)
CHROMA 2023 in Miami Metro CHROMA 2023
Lucid Design District (12/05-12/05)
A Christmas Chaos in Miami Metro A Christmas Chaos
Shoestring Theatre (12/01-12/17)
May We All, A New Country Musical in Miami Metro May We All, A New Country Musical
Titusville Playhouse (3/08-4/07)
Menopause, The Musical in Miami Metro Menopause, The Musical
Titusville Playhouse (5/17-5/26)
Death of a Salesman in Miami Metro Death of a Salesman
Palm Beach Dramaworks (3/29-4/14)
Hello, Dolly! in Miami Metro Hello, Dolly!
Lauderhill Performing Arts Center (4/04-4/21)

Recommended For You