Photo Coverage: 2007 LA Ovation Awards Ceremony

By: Nov. 13, 2007

The 2007 Los Angeles Stage Alliance Ovation Awards ceremony was held November 12 at downtown's The Orpheum Theatre.  The nights big winners included Sleeping Beauty Wakes (World Premiere Musical), Film Chinois (World Premiere Play) and Jersey Boys (Touring Production).

For best direction of  musical, David Lee won for Can-Can at the Pasadena Playhouse with Stuart Rogers taking home the best direction of a play award for The Long Christmas Ride Home at Theatre Tribe.  For musical direction, both Dan Wheetman and Brendan Milburn won for the Rubicon Theatre Company's Back Home Again:  A John Denver Holiday Concert and The Center Theatre Group's Sleeping Beauty Wakes, respectively.

The Geffen Playhouse's Hershey Felder As George Gershwin Alone won best musical in a large theatre while The Marvelous Wonderettes was awarded the Franklin R. Levy Memorial Award for best musical in an intimate theatre.  Souvenir took home the award for best play in a large theatre and Jitney was honored for best play in an intimate theatre.

LA Stage Alliance Board of Governors Awards went to Annette Bening for career achievement, Community Redevelopment Agency of the City of Los Angeles for the James A. Doolittle leadership in theatre award and The Actors Fund for the community outreach award.

Photos by ©Ryan Miller/Capture Imaging.

Annette Bening and husband Warren Beatty

Annette Bening and husband Warren Beatty

Blank Theatre Company Artistic Director Daniel Henning and Vicki Lewis

Vicki Lewis and Blank Theatre Company Artistic Director Daniel Henning

Host Neil Patrick Harris

Neil Patrick Harris

Michele Lee

Michele Lee

Julie and Kevin Earley

Yeardley Smith

Garry Marshall and Yeardley Smith

Garry Marshall

Orlando Jones

Annette Bening and husband Warren Beatty greet Daniel Henning

Jackie Seiden and Erich Bergen

Jackie Seiden, Erich Bergen, Christopher Kale Jones and Jenna Coker Jones

Mary Jo Catlett

Gil Cates and Sheldon Epps

Warren Beatty, Annette Bening and Gil Cates

Neil Patrick Harris

Neil Patrick Harris

Stefanie Powers

Garry Marshall

Garry Marshall

Sheldon Epps

CTG Artistic Director Michael Ritchie

Michael Ritchie

Annette Bening

Annette Bening

Producer David Elzer

Christopher Kale Jones

Director of Grand Performances Michael Alexander, Annette Bening, Warren Beatty and LA Stage Alliance Executive Producer Terence McFarland

Gil Cates and Garry Marshall

Rex Lee

Christopher Kale Jones and wife Jenna Coker Jones

Jackie Seiden, Christopher Kale Jones and Erich Bergen

Sleeping Beauty Wakes' Ed Waterstreet, Valerie Vigoda and Brendan Milburn