The Drama League 2023-24 Season Recap

The Drama League recently concluded a triumphant season, crowned by the 90th Annual Drama League Awards.

By: Jun. 05, 2024
Enter Your Email to Unlock This Article

Plus, get the best of BroadwayWorld delivered to your inbox, and unlimited access to our editorial content across the globe.

Existing user? Just click login.

The Drama League recently concluded a triumphant season, crowned by the 90th Annual Drama League Awards, held at the illustrious Ziegfeld Ballroom. The luncheon was a significant highlight, drawing over 650 theater industry professionals to celebrate and support the organization’s mission. Board President Bonnie Comley and Board member Darin Oduyoye co-chaired the event. The Drama League Awards Luncheon is a critical benefit for the Drama League's keystone initiative, The Directors Project, underscoring the organization's commitment to nurturing emerging theatrical talent.

Established in 1984, the Directors Project has been instrumental in shaping the careers of many notable directors in the theater industry. This season's alumni have made remarkable contributions to the theatrical landscape with an impressive array of productions across various prestigious venues:

May/June & Ongoing:

All Of Me, directed by Ashley Brooke Monroe (The New Group): Monroe's direction brought a fresh and engaging perspective to this new work, showcasing her ability to handle complex narratives with sensitivity and insight.

Comedy Of Errors, directed by Rebecca Martinez (Public Theater): Martinez infused this classic Shakespearean comedy with a dynamic and modern energy, demonstrating her flair for reviving timeless texts with contemporary relevance.

Laura Benanti: Nobody Cares, directed by Annie Tippe (Minetta Lane): Tippe's direction of Benanti's solo show highlighted her skill in creating intimate and compelling performances that resonate deeply with audiences.

N/A, directed by Diane Paulus (Lincoln Center Theatre): Paulus, a well-known name in the industry, continued to impress with her innovative approach and ability to bring profound stories to the stage.  

Three Houses, directed by Annie Tippe (Signature Theatre): Tippe’s second significant work this season, further solidifying her reputation as a versatile and visionary director.

What Became Of Us, directed by Jennifer Chang (Atlantic Theatre Company): Chang’s direction was noted for its emotional depth and nuanced storytelling, significantly impacting audiences and critics alike.

Appropriate, directed by Lila Neugebauer: Neugebauer’s direction of this challenging play was praised for its intensity and powerful execution. 

Back To The Future: The Musical, directed by John Rando: Rando’s direction of this much-anticipated musical adaptation captured the spirit of the original film while adding a new theatrical dimension.

A Beautiful Noise: The Neil Diamond Musical, directed by Michael Mayer: Mayer’s expertise in musical theater shone through in this biographical musical, bringing Neil Diamond’s story to life with authenticity and flair.

An Enemy of the People, directed by Sam Gold, was both timely and provocative. Gold’s interpretation of Ibsen’s classic engaged audiences in a thought-provoking dialogue on contemporary issues.

Hadestown, directed by Rachel Chavkin: Chavkin continued to receive accolades for her work on this Tony-winning musical, known for its imaginative staging and powerful performances.

Mary Jane, directed by Anne Kauffman: Kauffman’s direction of this intimate and poignant play was celebrated for its sensitivity and depth.

Moulin Rouge!, directed by Alex Timbers: Timbers’ spectacular direction of this Broadway hit maintained its high-energy and dazzling production values, drawing audiences into its vibrant world.

The Outsiders, directed by Danya Taymor: Taymor’s adaptation of the classic novel was noted for its bold and innovative approach, significantly impacting its stage rendition.

Uncle Vanya, directed by Lila Neugebauer: Neugebauer’s second major work this season, this production was lauded for its emotional resonance and meticulous direction.

Hamilton - Hannah Ryan (Hamilton - Resident Director)

Upcoming in July:

Once Upon A Mattress, directed by Lear deBessonet (Broadway): DeBessonet's Broadway production brought a refreshing vibrancy to the beloved musical, demonstrating her capability to helm large-scale productions with finesse.

The successful season and the flourishing careers of The Drama League Directors Project alumni highlight the initiative's importance. The 90th Annual Awards Luncheon was a celebration of these achievements and a crucial fundraiser that ensures the continuation of the Directors Project. The Drama League is fostering the next generation of theater-makers by supporting emerging directors through fellowships, residencies, and professional development opportunities.

The luncheon at the Ziegfeld Ballroom was a testament to the thriving community and the impactful work of The Drama League. With the Drama League leadership of Executive Director Bevin Ross, Artistic Director Gabriel Stelian Shanks, and the Board leadership of Bonnie Comley, along with newly elected vice presidents Kumiko Yoshii and Sarah Hutton, the organization is poised for continued success and influence in the theatrical world. The Drama League’s commitment to nurturing talent and advancing the theater arts promises a vibrant future for the industry, ensuring that new and diverse voices continue to emerge and thrive on stage.

The Drama League Board members include Bonnie Comley President, Vice President, Sarah Hutton, Kumiko Yoshii, Mary Jain, Secretary Irene Gandy, Treasurer Townsend Teague, and members Elena Araoz, Tony Benton, Trish Chambers, Estefania Fadul, Una Jackman, Paula Kaminsky Davis, Jonathan Lonner, Gwynn MacDonald, Darin Oduyoye, Arthur Pober, Stan Ponte and Fred Siegel. For more information on Drama League programs, initiatives, or inquiries about joining the board or committee, see


To post a comment, you must register and login.

Industry Classifieds