Stage Door Theatre Presents THE PRODUCERS

Stage Door Theatre Presents THE PRODUCERS

Mel Brooks' musical comedy The Producers won a record-setting 12 Tonys in 2001, including Best Musical - the most in the awards' history. It also set the standard for outrageous, in-your-face, politically incorrect humor. Stage Door Theatre will present what Variety's Charles Isherwood called 'a rip-roaring, gut-busting, rib-tickling, knee-slapping, aisle-rolling ... good time' musical at the Lauderhill Performing Arts Center (LPAC). The show will open on January 18th and run through February 10th.

The plot is simple: Failed producer Max Bialystock and his reluctant accountant, Leo Bloom, cook up a plot to convince a group of elderly women to invest two million dollars in a horrendously offensive Third Reich-themed musical, which they know will be a sure-fire flop. This, they conclude, will leave them with the money, which they plan to use to retire to Rio. But against all odds show is a hit, and Bialystock and Bloom have to deal with their success.

"The Producers takes an absurd and politically incorrect look at a horrible time in history. It also takes a hysterical look at the "art of the deal" in theatre itself," the show's director, Clayton Phillips says. "These days I feel we just have to laugh, or we just might go crazy. The Producers will make you laugh, for sure. Laugh at the absurdities of life."

"This is a bucket list role for me," says South Florida's Ken Clement, who will play Max Bialystock in the production. "When Clayton offered me the role, I didn't hesitate for even one moment... I said 'yes' without a second thought!"

Phillips has also cast T.J. Lamando as Leo Bloom, Melissa Jones as Ulla, Larry Buzzeo as Roger de Bris, and Frank Vomero as Garmen Ghia. Other cast members include Michael Biggs, Allison Blanchard, Marty Craft, Versee Damien, Alexandra Nicole Garcia, Luis Gomez, Stephen Hohendorf, Caiti Marlow, Christopher Morucci, Cat Pagano, Vincent Pelligrino, Jacob Rice, Sarah Rose, Laura Titus, Dyllan Vallier, Alexandra Van Hasselt, and Shanna Woods.

David Nagy will serve as the production's Musical Director and Danny Durr is The Producers' Choreographer. Scenic Design is by Randall Parsons, Lighting Design is by Guy Haubrich, and Costume Design is by Lenora Nikitin. The production's Stage Manager is Nancy Clay.

The Producers will run from January 18 - February 10 at the Lauderhill Performing Arts Center (LPAC). The theatre is located at 3800 NW 11th Place, Lauderhill (33311), in the Central Broward Regional Park on the North East corner of Sunrise Boulevard and 441 (State Road 7).

Tickets for The Producers range from $48 to $58. (LPAC charges a $5 service fee per ticket, however if a package of four Stage Door shows is purchased the service fees will be waived.) Group rates are available, as are student prices (with valid ID). Tickets may be purchased by calling the box office at 954-344-7765 or 954-777-2055 (LPAC) or on line at or on the LPAC website at

Photo Credit: Carol Kassie

Related Articles View More Fort Lauderdale Stories   Shows

From This Author Carol Kassie

Before you go...

Like Us On Facebook
Follow Us On Twitter
Follow Us On Instagram instagram