WaterTower Theatre Reveals Key Leadership Appointments

WaterTower Theatre Reveals Key Leadership Appointments

Terry Martin, WaterTower Theatre Producing Artistic Director and Derek Blount, President of the Board of Directors, today announced key leadership appointments to a number of important committees: Chairing the annual Spotlight Gala 2015 will be April Bosworth; Co-Chairing a new community fundraising initiative in the fall called The Community Cast Party is April Bosworth, Stan Graner and Debbie Staggs; Co-Chairing another new program called The President's Circle will be Barbara Daseke and Stan Graner, and Co-Chairing The Corporate Council (with Derek Blount) will be Jeff Laceky.

About Spotlight Gala 2015 (Chair, April Bosworth)

The Spotlight Gala is WaterTower Theatre's annual fundraising Gala held each year in late winter/early spring. The event raises nearly $200,000 for the Addison-based non-profit theatre company and it is currently the largest fundraising initiative overseen by the WaterTower Theatre Board of Directors. The Chair is always selected from the Board of Directors. Past Chairs have been Anita Braun, Allie Theisen, Corky Pledger and Barbara Daseke. The date for the Gala will be announced later. The Committee is currently being formed.

About The Community Cast Party (Co-Chairs, April Bosworth, Stan Graner and Debbie Staggs)

The Community Cast Party is the newest fundraising initiative for WaterTower Theatre. The date for the event is Saturday, September 13, 2014. The event is designed to attract a wide audience so that not only can WTT raise funds, but can also make some new friends along the way. The event will offer an evening of entertainment while showcasing many of our local businesses and restaurants. The Committee includes Maureen Anderson, Derek Blount, April Bosworth, Krista Brown, Rose Colarossi, Kelsey Ervi, Elizabeth Fratantuono, Stan Graner, Stacey Griggs, Margie Gunther, Katie Hall, Lisa Hermes, Sam Nicholson, Suzie Oliver, Karol Omlor, Suzanne Palmlund, Greg Patterson, Corky Pledger, Andrea Redmon, Diana Sheehan, Chris Shoup and Debbie Staggs.

About The President's Circle (Co-Chairs, Barbara Daseke and Stan Graner)

The President's Circle is a brand-new initiative made up of devoted theatre patrons who champion WaterTower Theatre. The highest category of membership at WaterTower Theatre brings together a select group who have a passion for theatre and a commitment to WaterTower Theatre's artistic vision by pledging to support the Company now and in the future with a multi-year gift. The Committee consists of Barbara Bigham, Derek Blount, April Bosworth, Michael Canterbury, Ben Cunningham, Terry Martin and Robert Mayer, Jr.

About The Corporate Council (Co-Chairs ,Derek Blount and Jeff Laceky)

The Corporate Council is designed to engage the business community with WaterTower Theatre while providing a number of key marketing benefits for its member companies. The Corporate Council has nearly 40 members and the group meets 4-6 times a year with events generally centered on a WaterTower Theatre production as well as a well-known speaker from the world of business. Previous Co-Chairs have included Megan Steinbach and Carolyn Beebe. A Steering Committee is currently being formed.

About the Leadership

Derek Blount is Area President for Sovereign Bank in Dallas. He serves as the President of the WaterTower Theatre Board of Directors. He has served on the WaterTower Theatre board since 2006 having previously served as Board Treasurer, Co-Chair of The Corporate Council, Board Vice President and in September 2010, was elected President of the Board of Directors. He was re-elected as Board President in 2011, 2012 and 2013. Derek is the founding Chair of The Corporate Council.

April Bosworth joined the WaterTower Theatre Board of Directors in 2012. She is also currently the Chair of Women of WaterTower Theatre. April has been actively involved with the Spotlight Gala for many years having served as Chair of the Live and Silent and Décor Committees on many occasions. An influential business leader and fundraiser, April has chaired numerous fundraising events for many other non-profit organizations including the Dallas Summer Musicals, the Mother of the Year Luncheon and Richardson Symphony League to name a few.

Barbara Daseke is currently a member of the WaterTower Theatre Board of Directors. She is one of the most dynamic non-profit fundraisers in North Texas, having served most recently as the Chair of WaterTower Theatre's Spotlight Gala for the past three years as well as the Chair of the Dallas Symphony Orchestra's AT&T Gala and has worked on many other fundraising events for organizations such as the Dallas Museum of Art, Southern Methodist University and TACA.

Stan Graner joined the WaterTower Theatre Board of Directors in 2013. He currently serves as the Chair of the WaterTower Theatre Development Committee. A well-known, critically acclaimed actor, Stan is an eight-time winner of the Column Awards. He served as Vice President of the Turtle Creek Chorale from 1992-1994. Stan has performed in a number of plays at WaterTower Theatre, including Black Tie, The Diary of Anne of Frank and August: Osage County.

Jeff Laceky is a 30-year financial services veteran who began his career as an examiner for the Texas Department of Banking in 1984. Since then he has been involved in nearly all elements of banking from managing retail to commercial lending to wealth management. He currently serves as the Market Leader for Frost Bank - Addison. Jeff is involved in the special needs community and serves on two boards of non-profits devoted to the education of persons with cognitive and/or physical disabilities.

Debbie Staggs is the Director of Marketing and Special Events at Million Air Dallas in Addison. She joined the WaterTower Theatre Board of Directors last year. She has been actively involved in many WaterTower Theatre activities and currently serves on the Steering Committee for Women of WaterTower Theatre. A highly influential community leader, Debbie served as past Director of Programs and Membership for the Farmer's Branch Chamber of Commerce and was on the Board of the Metrocrest Chamber of Commerce to name a few.

Related Articles

Dallas THEATER Stories | Shows  Like BWW Dallas  Follow BWW Dallas

From This Author BWW News Desk

Before you go...