2nd Cincinnati One-Minute Play Festival to be Held at Know Theatre in July

By: Jun. 16, 2016
Enter Your Email to Unlock This Article

Plus, get the best of BroadwayWorld delivered to your inbox, and unlimited access to our editorial content across the globe.

Existing user? Just click login.

The One-Minute Play Festival (1MPF) (Dominic D'Andrea, Producing Artistic Director & Caitlin Wees, Associate Producer) and Know Theatre (Andrew Hungerford, Producing Artistic Direct & Tamara Winters, Associate Artistic Director) continue their dynamic partnership for The 2nd Annual Cincinnati One-minute Play Festival with part of the proceeds to benefit artist residency and educational programming at Know Theatre!

"I'm just thrilled to be returning to Cincinnati. Last year coming to town and working with these artists was the most engaged new festival we had in the country!" Says 1MPF producing artistic director, Dominic D'Andrea. "There is something happening in this town, between the work the Know is doing, the fringe festival, and other work popping up, along with a growing culture of new play work and playwright: Cincinnati is an exciting place to be. I would rather be working here than anywhere else, and I'm so glad we are doing this work with Know and the community. Our work is about exploring the zeitgeist, and no better way to do that than in this forum", D'Andrea says.

One-minute plays by established and emerging Cincinnati playwrights were commissioned for this special event, prompted by #1MPF's unique playmaking process.

The festival will feature work created for 1MPF by:

John Bromels, Chris Wesselman, Robert Macke, Kevin Crowley, Becca Howell, Alison Rampa, Joe McDonagh, Mike Hall, Nick Carmine, David J. Loehr, Torie Wiggins, Stacy Sims, Bekka Eaton, Maggie Lou Rader, Linnea Bond, Paul Shortt, Roger Collins, Derek Snow, Tracy Hoida, Rory Sheridan, Sara Swartout, Alan Jozwiak, Katie Fine, Nathan Singer, Brant Russell, Sara Mackie, Allyson West, Geoffrey Barnes, & Eric Pfeffinger

Directed by Alice Flanders, Brant Russell & Landon Hawkins, Carrington Rowe, Derek Snow, Burgess Byrd, Piper Davis, Rebecca Bromels, & Shelby Becker

The One­Minute Play Festival (#1MPF) is America's largest and longest running grass roots theatre company, founded by Producing Artistic Director, Dominic D'Andrea. #1MPF is social barometer project, which investigates the zeitgeist of different communities through dialogue, consensus building, and a performance of 50-100 short moments generated by each community. #1MPF works in partnership with theatres and/or social organizations sharing playwright, educational, or community-specific missions across the country. The aim is to create locally sourced playwright-focused community events, with the goal of promoting the spirit of radical inclusion. #1MPF represents playwrights of different age, gender, race, cultures, and points of career. The work attempts to reflect the theatrical landscape of local artistic communities by creating a dialogue between the collective conscious and the individual voice.

In each city, #1MPF works with partnering organizations to identify programs or initiatives in each community to support with the proceeds from ticket sales. The goal is to find ways give directly back to the artists in each community. Supported programs have ranged from educational programming, youth poetry projects, theatre program in prisons, playwright residencies and memberships, playwrights salaried commissions, community access projects, arts workshops, and other social and artistic initiatives.

Annual partnerships have been created with theaters in over 20 cities including: New York, Los Angeles, San Francisco, Chicago, Trenton, Atlanta, Philadelphia, Washington, DC, Baltimore, Boston, Miami, Minneapolis, New York, Seattle, Dallas, Austin, Indianapolis, Anchorage, Honolulu, St. Louis, and more, with partnering institutions like Primary Stages, Oregon Shakespeare Festival, Second Stage Uptown, New Georges at New York City Center, Z-Space, A.C.T., Trinity Rep, Victory Gardens Theatre, Cornerstone Theatre Company, The Playwrights Foundation, Boston Playwrights Theatre, Actor's Express, InterAct Theatre, Mixed Blood, Walking Shadow Theatre, Passage Theatre, Phoenix Theatre, Kitchen Dog Theatre, Salvage Vanguard & ScriptWorks, ACT, Perseverance Theatre, Round House Theatre, Honolulu Theatre For Youth, and others.

Notable #1MPF contributors have included: David Henry Hwang, Lynn Nottage, Neil LaBute, Tina Howe, Donald Margulies, Nilaja Sun, Tarell Alvin McCraney, Robert Schenkkan, Lydia Diamond, Phillip Kan Gotanda, Kristoffer Diaz, Rajiv Joseph, Sam Hunter, Karen Hartman, Robert Askins, Colman Domingo, José Rivera, Craig Lucas, Mike Daisey, Greg Kotis, Michael John Garcés, & over to 1400 celebrated, emerging, and midcareer playwrights. For more information visit: www.oneminuteplayfestival.com

More Info and Tickets: www.knowtheatre.com


To post a comment, you must register and login.