YOUR SISTER'S SISTER Among Winners of 22nd Independent Gotham Awards

YOUR SISTER'S SISTER Among Winners of 22nd Independent Gotham Awards

Actor, Matt Damon, Director, David O. Russell, Philanthropist, Social Entrepreneur Jeff Skoll and Oscar Award™ winning actress Marion Cotillard were presented with career tributes at the 22nd Annual Gotham Independent Film Awards last night, Monday, November 26th at Cipriani Wall Street, in New York City. 

Among other winners at the Awards ceremony, hosted by Mike Birbiglia were Wes Anderson's Moonrise Kingdom for Best Picture Award, 'How To Survive A Plague' for Best Documentary Award and 'Your Sister's Sister' for Best Ensemble Performance Award. 

The winners of the 22nd Independent Gotham Awards follow:

IFP Award For Best Feature

Moonrise Kingdom - WINNER
The Loneliest Planet
The Master
Middle Of Nowhere

IFP Best Documentary Award:

How To Survive A Plague, the acclaimed AIDS activism docu written and directed by David France - WINNER
Marina Abramovic: The Artist Is Present
Room 237
The Waiting Room

IFP Best Ensemble Performance Award:

Your Sister’s Sister castmembers Emily Blunt, Rosemarie DeWitt, Mark Duplass - WINNER
Bernie : Jack Black, Shirley MacLaine, Matthew McConaughey
Moonrise Kingdom : Bruce Willis, Edward Norton, Bill Murray, Frances McDormand, Tilda Swinton, Jared Gilman, Kara Hayward, Jason Schwartzman, Bob Balaban
Safety Not Guaranteed : Aubrey Plaza, Mark Duplass, Jake Johnson, Karan Soni, Jenica Bergere, Kristen Bell, Jeff Garlin, Mary Lynn Rajskub
Silver Linings Playbook : Bradley Cooper, Jennifer Lawrence, Robert De Niro, Jacki Weaver, Chris Tucker, Anupam Kher, John Ortiz, Julia Stiles, Shea Wigham, Paulie Herman

IFP Calvin Klein Female Filmmaker Award

Stacie Passon, director of Concussion 

Bingham Ray Award 

WINNER: Benh Zeitlin for Beasts Of The Southern Wild

IFP Best Film Not Playing At A Theater Near You Award

An Oversimplification Of Her Beauty, written and directed by Terence Nance.

IFP Breakthrough Actor Award

Emayatzy Corinealdi won for Middle Of Nowhere - WINNER
Mike Birbiglia in Sleepwalk With Me
Thure Lindhardt in Keep The Lights On
Melanie Lynskey in Hello, I Must Be Going
Quvenzhané Wallis in Beasts Of The Southern Wild

IFP Breakthrough Director Award

Benh Zeitlin won for Beasts Of The Southern Wild -WINNER
Zal Batmanglij for Sound Of My Voice
Brian M. Cassidy and Melanie Shatzky for Francine
Jason Cortlund and Julia Halperin for Now, Forager
Antonio Méndez Esparza for Aquí y Allá (Here And There)

Gotham Independence Film Audience Award Winner:

Artifact: the documentary directed by Bartholomew Cubbins <


The Gotham Independent Film Awards, selected by distinguished juries and presented in New York City, the home of independent film, are the first honors of the film awards season. This public showcase honors the filmmaking community, expands the audience for independent films, and supports the work that IFP does behind the scenes throughout the year to bring such films to fruition.