Skip to main content Skip to footer site map

Tony Winner Michael Mayer to Direct Broadway Vets in Film Adaptation of Checkhov's THE SEAGULL

Deadline reports that Tony winning director Michael Mayer (Spring Awakening, American Idiot, Hedwig And The Angry Inch) has lined up an all-star cast for his upcoming film adaptation of Chekhov's THE SEAGULL.

Production, currently underway in York, will star Annette Bening, Saoirse Ronan, Corey Stoll, Elisabeth Moss, Brian Dennehy, Mare Winningham, Jon Tenney, Glen Fleshler, Michael Zegen, and Billy Howle. Tom Hulce will produce alongside Leslie Urdang, Robert Salerno, Jay Franke and David Herro.

Stephen Karam, whose play 'Sons of the Prophet' was a Pulitzer Prize finalist, penned the script to the classic novel which follows "the tragic story of eight people who fall in love with the wrong person, and it is an exploration of dreams and regret."

THE SEAGULL was last seen on Broadway in 2008. Carey Mulligan, Kristin Scott Thomas, Art Malik, Mackenzie Crook, and Peter Sarsgaard starred in the production.

Photo Credit: Walter McBride / WM Photos

Featured on Stage Door

Shoutouts, Classes, and More from Your Favorite Broadway Stars

Related Articles View More TV Stories

From This Author Movies News Desk