Roland Emmerich Reveals Two More Cast Members for INDEPENDENCE DAY Sequel

Roland Emmerich turned to Twitter today to reveal two additional cast members to the INDEPENDENCE DAY sequel, hitting theaters in summer 2016.

Tweeted the director: "This just in... @JoeyKingActress and @BrentSpiner officially signed for #IndependenceDay - Welcome aboard!"

The actors join previously announced cast members Jeff Goldblum, Jessie Usher, Charlotte Gainsbourg, Liam Hemsworth, Vivica A. Fox, and Travis Tope. Original film cast member Will Smith is not expected to sign on for the sequel.

Emmerich will direct from a script by Nicolas Wright and James A. Woods, with Carter Blanchard's rewrite of Emmerich and Dean Devlin and James Vanderbilt's first draft.

The first film hit theaters in 1996 and followed Captain Steve Hiller (Will Smith), President Thomas J. Whitmore (Bill Pullman) and programmer David Levinson (Jeff Goldblum) in their quest to save THE HUMAN RACE from a deadly alien invasion.

It drew a gross of $817,400,891 worldwide -- the second-highest gross of all time when the film debuted. INDEPENDENCE DAY also won an Oscar for Best Visual Effects.

Source: Twitter

Related Articles View More TV Stories

From This Author Movies News Desk

Before you go...

Like Us On Facebook
Follow Us On Twitter
Follow Us On Instagram instagram