Cornell Bhangra Wins TODAY'S GOT TALENT Contest; Joins Top Acts

Cornell Bhangra Wins TODAY'S GOT TALENT Contest; Joins Top Acts

The votes are in! Cornell Bhangra, a dance group based in Ithaca, N.Y., won the "TODAY's Got Talent" contest, announced last night by "TODAY" anchors Matt Lauer and Savannah Guthrie. The act will join the quarter-final rounds on "AGT" and perform live Tuesday, Aug. 12 for the chance to win the $1 million prize.

Founded in 1997, Cornell Bhangra has become one of the best-known Bhangra dance teams worldwide, winning back-to-back championships at the World's Best Bhangra competition. The team consists of Cornell University students from different backgrounds and fields of study, including engineering, economics, biology, chemistry, dance studies and hotel administration. While they all have different academic interests, their passion for Bhangra unites the group. For more information, please visit www.nbc.com/americas-got-talent/cast/season-9/cornell-bhangra. See their winning performance on "TODAY" here -www.nbcnews.com/id/21134540/vp/55705738#55705738

Next week, "America's Got Talent" continues the quarter-final rounds on Tuesday, Aug. 5 (9-11 p.m. ET), where twelve more of the Top 48 acts perform live for America's vote. Five of those acts will move on to the semi-finals to compete against Baila Conmigo, Dan Naturman, David and Leeman, Emily West and Miguel Dakota.

The Aug. 6 results show (9-10 p.m. ET) will feature a thrilling performance by electric violinist Lindsey Stirling, performing her hit single "Shatter Me," featuring Lzzy Hale from the Grammy award-winning band Halestorm.

Breakthrough artist Lindsey Stirling has dazzled the music industry with over half a billion views on her Youtube channel, Billboard chart-topping hits and sold out tours worldwide since she first appeared on "America's Got Talent" in 2010. A classically trained violinist from Gilbert, AZ, her recently released sophomore album, "Shatter Me," debuted at #2 on the Billboard Top 200 chart. Lindsey's self-titled debut album earned her a 2014 Billboard Music Award nomination for "Top Dance/Electronic Album," has sold over 300,000 copies in the U.S. without the backing of a major label, and has gone platinum in Germany and gold in Poland and Switzerland. The album reached #1 on Billboard's Dance/Electronic Chart and Classical Album Chart and peaked at #23 on the Billboard Top 200. The track "Crystallize" has become a viral smash, racking up over 100 million Youtube views. For more information, visit www.lindseystirling.com.

The 12 contestants performing on Tuesday, Aug. 5 are:

ACTE II http://www.nbc.com/americas-got-talent/cast/season-9/acte-ii

Aerial Animation http://www.nbc.com/americas-got-talent/cast/season-9/aerial-animation

Andrey Moraru http://www.nbc.com/americas-got-talent/cast/season-9/andrey-moraru

Darik Santos http://www.nbc.com/americas-got-talent/cast/season-9/darik-santos

Hart Dance Team http://www.nbc.com/americas-got-talent/cast/season-9/hart-dance-team

Jaycob Curlee http://www.nbc.com/americas-got-talent/cast/season-9/jaycob-curlee

John & Andrew http://www.nbc.com/americas-got-talent/cast/season-9/john-andrew

Juan Carlos http://www.nbc.com/americas-got-talent/cast/season-9/juan-carlos

Livy, Matt & Sammy http://www.nbc.com/americas-got-talent/cast/season-9/livy-matt-sammy

Loop Rawlins http://www.nbc.com/americas-got-talent/cast/season-9/loop-rawlins

Mara Justine http://www.nbc.com/americas-got-talent/cast/season-9/mara-justine

Mat Franco http://www.nbc.com/americas-got-talent/cast/season-9/mat-franco

More information, including bios and social media contacts for each act, can be found at www.nbc.com/americas-got-talent/cast/season-9

"America's Got Talent" is produced by Simon Cowell's Syco Entertainment and FremantleMedia North America. Simon Cowell, Jason Raff, Sam Donnelly, Trish Kinane and Richard Wallace are the executive producers.

Please visit the official show site at: http://www.nbc.com/agt

For artwork and a complete press kit from the show please visit the NBC Universal Media Village website at http://www.nbcumv.com/mediavillage/

For the latest "America's Got Talent" news, videos, and photos, please like on Facebook, subscribe on Youtube and follow on Twitter, Instagram and Google+:

https://www.facebook.com/nbcagt

https://www.youtube.com/agt

https://twitter.com/nbcagt #AGT

https://instagram.com/nbcagt

https://plus.google.com/+nbcagt