Anna Kendrick, Zoe Saldana Announce 2013 Spirit Award Nominees Today

Film Independent Co-Presidents Sean Mc Manus and Josh Welsh jointly announced that this year's 2013 Spirit Award nominees would be presented by actors Anna Kendrick (End Of Watch, Up In The Air), Zoe Saldana (Star Trek, Out Of The Furnace), and Common (Just Wright, Smokin' Aces) in a press conference at 10:00 am PT today, November 27 at The W Hollywood.

As the first event to honor independent film exclusively, the Film Independent Spirit Awards has made a name for itself as the premier awards event for the independent film community. It's a celebration of the spirited pioneers who bring a unique vision to filmmaking.

Along with being a great party, the Spirit Awards ceremony also brings together the top talent from independent film and Hollywood. Trophies are presented for the year's best achievements in independent film, with statues awarded for Best Feature, Best First Feature, Best Feature Made for Under $500,000 (the John Cassavetes Award) and many more.

Keeping with its roots and L.A. location, the Spirit Awards takes place each year inside a beachfront tent in Santa Monica. Currently in its 28th year, the show is as original as the films and filmmakers it honors.

Winners are chosen by those in the know: Film Independent members, past Spirit Award nominees and winners and active IFP members. Voting members attend nominee screenings and view select nominated films through a screening program before choosing the Spirit Award winners.<