ABC's Music Lounge is Live With NASHVILLE-Inspired Docu-Web Series 'On the Record'

ABC's Music Lounge is Live With NASHVILLE-Inspired Docu-Web Series 'On the Record'

ABC Music Lounge's "Nashville"-inspired docu-web series, "On the Record," is live with two new original songs to be featured in the December 5 episode (entitled "Where He Leads Me"): "When the Right One Comes Along," written by songwriters Georgia Middleman, Sarah Zimmermann and Justin Davis, performed by Sam Palladio as Gunnar Scott; and "For Your Glory," written by Kate York, Leeland Mooring and Jack Mooring, performed by Hayden Panettiere as Juliet Barnes." 

"On The Record: When the Right One Comes Along" goes behind the scenes with songwriters Georgina Middleman, Sarah Zimmermann and Justin Davis and includes a special acoustic performance of the song. Interviews with CALLIE KHOURI (creator/executive producer), Dawn Soler (SVP of Music, ABC Studios) and Frankie Pine (music supervisor) reveal how special the discovery process often is; Soler and Pine had listened to thousands of songs and were headed back to Los Angles when they got the call about "When the Right One Comes Along."

"We got a call from a publisher who said, 'Please, please, come over on the way to the airport,'" said Soler. They did, and Zimmermann and Davis performed. "At one point Frankie and I just looked at each other and both had tears in our eyes thinking about it being recorded."

"These are beautiful, perfect songs that people might not get to hear if they don't live here. That's one of the great joys of doing this show," added Khouri.
The second of the two new installments, "On the Record: For Your Glory," explores the inspiration behind songwriter Kate York's gospel inspired "For Your Glory."

"I drove a friend of mine down to Texas a few years ago and she was very ill. This friend of mine was just heavy on my heart with everything she was going through. She's an artist who has a lot of physical ailments that kept her from sharing her gifts with the world. I think it's tragic. That's basically what it's about, rising up from the dirt and rust of real life and just breaking through all that. It's kind of a prayer for her in a way."

In addition to "When the Right One Comes Along" and "For Your Glory," the other "Nashville" song being released this week is "Peace in the Valley," written by Gillian Welch and performed by Jonathan Jackson as Avery. All are currently available on iTunes and

T Bone Burnett serves as executive music producer for the series. All original music is released by ABC Studios, Lionsgate and ABC Music Lounge in association with Big Machine Records.

"Where He Leads Me" airs WEDNESDAY, DECEMBER 5 (10:00-11:00 p.m., ET).

Sponsored by Samsung, "On the Record" is a documentary web series that follows the life of original songs performed on "Nashville" written by singer/songwriters in the music scene, from the songs' inception to on-air premiere. The series offers an intimate look into the songwriting process, from guitar demo to music video and all the steps in between.

"Nashville" stars Connie Britton as Rayna Jaymes, Hayden Panettiere as Juliette Barnes, CLARE BOWEN as Scarlett O'Connor, ERIC CLOSE as Teddy Conrad, Charles Esten as Deacon Claybourne, Jonathan Jackson as Avery Barkley, Sam Palladio as Gunnar Scott, Robert Ray Wisdom as Coleman Carlisle and Powers Boothe as Lamar Wyatt.

"Nashville" is executive produced by Dee Johnson, R.J. Cutler, CALLIE KHOURI who is also creator and Steve Buchanan. The series is produced by Lionsgate, ABC Studios and Gaylord Entertainment.

ABC Music Lounge, which launched in May 2009 on, provides users with an interactive online music experience that is uniquely ABC. Reflective of the network's commitment to using digital platforms to deepen its relationship with viewers, the ABC Music Lounge showcases everything about the music and artists featured on ABC's popular primetime schedule, offering a deep catalog of music-related content. The site features a 24-hour streaming radio station programmed with music featured on such ABC series as "Body of Proof," "Castle," "Dancing with the Stars," "Grey's Anatomy," "Private Practice," "Revenge" and "Once Upon a Time," among others. Visitors to the site can get access to exclusive weekly free downloads and get a glimpse of ABC's music future, as the radio station also showcases new music picked by series producers, music supervisors and others involved in the music selection process for shows that have previously seen great success. In addition to a streaming radio station, ABC Music Lounge is home to music videos, exclusive performance footage, photos and behind-the-scenes interviews with artists, series producers and music supervisors.

Big Machine Records is the leading independent Nashville-based record label home to superstars such as Taylor Swift, Tim McGRaw and Rascal Flatts.

ABC Music Lounge