2017 UCF Head Coach Scott Frost Wins Home Depot Coach of the Year Award

The 2017 Home Depot Coach of the Year Award will be presented to Scott Frost, head coach at the University of Central Florida for the last two seasons, as part of The Home Depot COLLEGE FOOTBALL AWARDS presented by GILDAN on Thursday, Dec. 7, at 7 p.m. ET, on ESPN. Also on award night, as part of The Home Depot COLLEGE FOOTBALL AWARDS RED CARPET SPECIAL presented by Daltile at 6 p.m. on ESPNU, the John Mackey Award for outstanding tight end will be presented to Mark Andrews of Oklahoma.

Frost led the Knights to an undefeated season, capped by winning the American Athletic Conference Championship with a 62-55 victory over Memphis in double overtime. As a result of their perfect season, UCF was ranked 12th in the final COLLEGE FOOTBALL Playoff rankings and will represent the Group of 5 in the New Year's Six when they play No. 7 Auburn in the Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl. The former national championship-winning quarterback was hired by UCF in December 2015 after more than 10 years as an assistant coach. Overall, in his two seasons, he amassed an 18-6 regular season record. On December 2, it was announced that Frost will take over the head coaching job at his alma mater, the University of Nebraska.

Andrews, a red shirt junior from Oklahoma has been named the country's outstanding tight end by the Friends of John Mackey, becoming the first Sooner to win the award. The John Mackey Award is given to the collegiate tight end who best exemplifies the play, sportsmanship, academics, and community values of NFL Hall of Fame Tight End John Mackey.

Andrews lead the Sooners in receptions (58) and touchdown receptions (8), while leading the nation's tight ends with 906 receiving yards. In his three-year career, he has become Oklahoma's all-time leader in receiving yards by a tight end with 1,713 yards.

The Home Depot COLLEGE FOOTBALL AWARDS presented by GILDAN will also include live presentations of:

  • Nine National COLLEGE FOOTBALL AWARDS Association (NCFAA) player awards
  • The NCFAA Contributions to COLLEGE FOOTBALL Award to Brent Musburger
  • The Disney Spirit Award recognizing the University of Iowa football program and the Kinnick Wave
  • Student-athletes selected to the Walter Camp All-America Team

National COLLEGE FOOTBALL AWARDS Association (NCFAA) The NCFAA encompasses the most prestigious awards in college football. The 21 awards boast 678 years of tradition-selection excellence. Visit www.NCFAA.org to learn more about our story.

Image courtesy of ESPN Press

Related Articles View More TV Stories

From This Author TV News Desk