Photo Coverage: Benj Pasek & Justin Paul Among ASCAP Foundation Honorees

The 2016 ASCAP FOUNDATION HONORS were given out last night at Jazz at Lincoln Center's Appel Room last night and BroadwayWorld was there.

Stephen Schwartz presented the Harold Adamson Musical Theatre award to Benj Pasek and Justin Paul. Composers Morten Lauridsen and Maria Schneider received The ASCAP Foundation Life In Music Awards.

Paul Williams, it's president noted: "The ASCAP Foundation Honors 2016 celebrates the achievements of the people who represent our musical hopes and dreams for the future. They are music creators and performers who are beginning their careers and already making an impact. Thanks to the generosity of our donors, we continue to support a variety of songwriting workshops, summer music camps, scholarships, awards, commissioning projects and much more. Our Foundation impacts more than 3 million people annually through our support of over 150 music education, talent development, humanitarian and community outreach programs."

Colleen McDonough, executive director of ASCAP pointed out as the tune Take Me Out To The Ball Game was heard, that the organization got an early financial boost when the songs co-composers estate willed the royalties to ASCAP. The ASCAP Foundation was incorporated in 1975 when Amy Swor Norworth, widow of Jack Norworth, the lyricist who penned "Take Me Out to the Ballgame" with composer Albert Von Tilzer, left a generous bequest to ASCAP to establish the Jack and Amy Norworth Memorial Fund to assist deserving young composers through the use royalties from "Take Me Out to the Ball Game." That initial program was called the The ASCAP Foundation Grants to Young Composers competion, designed to encourage composers in the earliest stages of their careers. The program, now known as The ASCAP Foundation Morton Gould Young Composer Awards, has provided cash awards to hundreds of composers under the age of 30 since

Photo Credit: Stephen Sorokoff

Paul Williams, President ASCAP


Stephen Schwartz

Benj Pasek, Justin Paul, Stephen Schwartz, Harold Adamson Award

Justin Paul & Benj Pasek

Colleen McDonough, executive director ASCAP

Jamie deRoy

Shelly Markham & Jamie deRoy, Jamie deRoy & friends Award

Brian Richburg, Jr. & Louis Prima, Louis Prima Award

Paul Williams

Maria Schneider & Paul Williams

Eunice David

Caleb Collins, Hal & Eunice David Award

Jack Vogt & Stanly Crouch, Louis Armstrong Award

Nicole Ashford & Asia Ashford

Charles Duke, Reach Out & touch Award

Jamie Bernstein

Saevar Rodine & Jamie Bernstein, Leonard Bernstein Award

Cia Toscanini

Jim Kendrick

Appel Room

Joseph Benincasa, CEO Actors Fund, Jamie deRoy, Alan Bergman, Shelly Markham

Judith Clurman & Stephen Schwartz

Stephen Schwartz & Eda Sorokoff

Anthony Nunziata, Joseph Benincasa, Will Nunziata

Eda Sorokoff, Shelly Markham, Stephen Schwartz, Jamie deRoy, Stephen Sorokoff

Jamie deRoy & friends Award

Jamie deRoy & Shelly Markham

Award Winners

Stephen Sorokoff, Shelly Markham, Jamie deRoy, Andrea Marcovicci

Desmond Child & Jamie deRoy

Herb Alpert Award Winners

Jazz at Lincoln Center

Related Articles View More Music Stories

From This Author Stephen Sorokoff