Isotopia Records to Release Constance Hauman's 'High Tides'

By: Jan. 17, 2019

Isotopia Records to Release Constance Hauman's 'High Tides'

On Friday 25th January 2019, Isotopia Records will release High Tides, a new album of original songs by the singer Constance Hauman, whose critically acclaimed first solo recording, Falling Into Now, was included on The Guardian's list of the 10 Best Albums of 2015. High Tides, Hauman's second album, demonstrates her skill and craftsmanship as a songwriter and her talent and versatility as a singer and musician. The album contains eight new songs composed by Hauman, as well as Everlong by Dave Grohl and Les Chemins de l'Amour by Francis Poulenc. High Tides was produced by Constance Hauman and Ross Pederson - who was also the recording and mix engineer and performs throughout the album on drums, bass and midi.

Ms. Hauman also acts as music director, keyboardist and producer for the soul, rock, funk band Miss Velvet and the Blue Wolf, currently on a worldwide tour as the opening act for George Clinton and Parliament Funkadelic.

The album is an emotionally powerful experience for the listener with songs ranging from pulsing yet sophisticated pop anthems (Run Sister, Mystic Vision), doleful yet uplifting love ballads (Lonely Xmas, Painful Strangers, Waiting For You, Everlong) and art songs (Les Chemins de l'Amour, Golden Thread). Thematically High Tides moves between two highly-charged worlds, one mirroring the other. These are, the turbulent internal world of human emotions dominated by the drama of romantic love and loss and the majestic, explosive and awe-inspiring natural world and cosmos which seem to be responding to the amorous situations, feelings, and experiences of the singer.


1. High Tides - 3:54

2. Run Sister - 5:19

3. Mystic Vision - 4:27

4. Love Burns - 4:03

5. Lonely Xmas (Hold Me Tight) - 4:21

6. Les Chemins de l'Amour - 6:01

7. Painful Strangers - 4:20

8. Waiting For You - 5:29

9. Everlong - 5:04

10. Golden Thread - 6:32

American singer, pianist, songwriter, lyricist and producer, Constance Hauman is recognized in both the worlds of indie rock and classical music. A favourite of Leonard Bernstein, Hauman has sung over 2,000 performances of opera and hundreds of concerts with a wide array of international companies including, the Royal Opera House Covent Garden, Welsh National Opera, English National Opera, Lyric Opera of Chicago, Opera National de Paris, Berlin Philharmonic, Chicago Symphony, London Symphony and London Philharmonia. She wrote, directed and starred in the one-woman show, Exiles in Paradise which caused a sensation at the 92nd Street Y in New York, Schoenberg Hall in Los Angeles and at the Jewish Museum in Berlin. The Wall Street Journal wrote: "Constance Hauman a lustrous coloratura soprano of wide-ranging tastes and versatility, made headlines on music pages all over Europe as the waif/sex-goddess in Alban Berg's Lulu. Her gleaming soprano can be heard on a live recording on the Chandos label; but meanwhile her performance piece Exiles in Paradise, backed up by research worthy of a Ph.D. is tossed off with the pizzaz of a diva. And damned if Ms. Hauman doesn't lead with 'Falling in Love Again' caressing Friedrich Hollander's tune with a sensuality of phrase and brilliance of tone that owes not a lick to Marlene."--------- Hauman returns to the classical stage in 2019 with a Vienna Staatsoper debut as Queen Elizabeth I, in the world premiere of Olga Neuwirth's adaptation of Orlando by Virginia Wolff.