American Psycho
Click Here for More Articles on American Psycho

Update: AMERICAN PSYCHO Original London Cast Recording Track List Revealed!

As BroadwayWorld reported earlier today, GRAMMY and Tony Award-winning musician Duncan Sheik's American Psycho: Original London Cast Recording will be available on March 25, 2016 via Concord Records. The album's release will coincide with the show's U.S. premiere on Broadway, with previews beginning March 24 at the Gerald Schoenfeld Theater at 236 West 45th Street in New York City.

The album features the cast of the highly acclaimed, sold-out run in London. The album is executive produced by Sheik, David Johnson and Jesse Singer. All instrumentation is by Sheik and the album was mixed and mastered at his Sneaky Studios in Garrison, NY and in Parliament Hill, London.

This London cast recording features Matt Smith (best known for his role as the Eleventh Doctor in the BBC science fiction series "Doctor Who," for which he received a BAFTA Award nomination) as Patrick Bateman, Gillian Kirkpatrick as Patrick's Mother/Mrs. Wolfe, Cassandra Compton as Patrick's secretary Jean, and Susannah Fielding as Patrick's girlfriend, Evelyn Williams. The London cast also included Ben Aldridge, Charlie Anson, Jonathan Bailey, Katie Brayben, Holly Dale Spencer, Simon Gregor, Holly James, Lucie Jones, Tom Kay, Eugene McCoy, and Hugh Skinner.

AMERICAN PSYCHO had its world premiere at the Almeida Theatre in London from December 3rd, 2013 through February 1st, 2014. That sold-out production was presented by The Almeida Theatre and Headlong in association with Act 4 Entertainment (David Johnson & Jesse Singer).

Set in the excess of 1980s Manhattan, American Psycho is based on the novel by Bret Easton Ellis and tells the story of Patrick Bateman, a young and handsome Wall Street banker who pursues his darkest American dreams. Directed by Olivier Award-winner Rupert Goold (King Charles III), American Psycho has a book by Roberto Aguirre-Sacasa ("Glee") and choreography by Tony Award nominee Lynne Page (La Cage Aux Folles).

The cast of the forthcoming U.S. version is a who's who of Broadway notables, with the lead role of Bateman played by Benjamin Walker (Bloody Bloody Andrew Jackson). The cast also includes Tony Award-winner Alice Ripley (Next to Normal) as Patrick's Mother/Mrs. Wolfe; Tony Award nominee Jennifer Damiano (Next to Normal) as Patrick's secretary Jean, and Heléne Yorke (Bullets over Broadway, "Masters of Sex") as Patrick's girlfriend, Evelyn, among others.

In 2015, Sheik released Legerdemain, his first production of original material, not attached to a theatre piece, since 2006's White Limousine. The album received rave reviews including the Los Angeles Times who said, "as assured as it is adventurous, Legerdemain reflects his effort in elegantly rendered tunes" while NPR Music said "the songs from the new album, Legerdemain, feel full-circle; intimate and contemplative. Telling complicated little stories via spare lyrics and subtle studio wizardry, these songs beautifully balance Sheik's pop know-how and his theatrical impulses."

In addition to his new album and American Psycho, Deaf West's interpretation of Spring Awakening just completed an acclaimed limited engagement on Broadway. The original 2006 version of the musical orchestrated by Sheik went on to win eight Tony Awards. Sheik alone earned two awards for "Best Orchestration" and "Best Original Score" as well as a GRAMMY Award for "Best Musical Show Album," which he produced. He followed with the musical theater production Whisper House, which was directed by Peter Askin (Hedwig and the Angry Inch) and written by Kyle Jarrow, and Hans Christian Andersen's The Nightingale.

Launching his musical career in 1996 with his self-titled debut, Sheik quickly earned a Grammy nomination for "Best Male Vocal" for his hit "Barely Breathing," which spent 55 weeks on the Billboard Hot 100 Chart. He subsequently garnered critical accolades for his unique brand of folk-pop music with 2006's White Limousine and his 2-CD collection of songs titled Brighter/Later: A Duncan Sheik Anthology.

Track Listing:
1. Opening (Morning Routine) (3:32)
2. Cards (3:16)
3. You Are What You Wear (4:07)
4. Oh Sri Lanka (2:18)
5. True Faith (1:31)
6. Killing Time (3:12)
7. In The Air Tonight (2:23)
8. Hardbody / Hardbody Luis (5:54)
9. If We Get Married (2:29)
10. Not A Common Man (3:10)
11. Mistletoe Alert (3:11)
12. Clean (2:33)
13. Killing Spree (4:40)
14. Nice Thought (2:34)
15. At The End Of An Island / Hardbody Hamptons (3:48)
16. I Am Back (2:53)
17. A Girl Before (3:42)
18. Don't You Want Me? (1:16)
19. This Is Not An Exit (5:07)

Additional Music:
20. Selling Out (Fischer King Remix) (4:05)
21. Everybody Wants To Rule The World (Duncan Sheik Remix) (3:24)
22. Killing Time 2.0 (2:58)

Related Articles

More Hot Stories For You

Living Room Concert: Lin-Manuel Miranda Sings HAMILTON
Today we've got Lin-Manuel Miranda singing from HAMILTON!... (read more)

VIDEO: Ben Platt and the Cast of DEAR EVAN HANSEN Perform 'You Will Be Found' on James Corden's HOMEFEST
Last night, CBS presented HOMEFEST: James Corden's LATE LATE SHOW SPECIAL, hosted by James Corden. One of the performers was Ben Platt, who joined the... (read more)

Andrew Lloyd Webber Musicals Will Stream Online Free; Catch JOSEPH... This Friday, April 3
Andrew Lloyd Webber's musicals will be streamed online for free!... (read more)

Nick Cordero is in the ICU, May be Positive for COVID-19
Nick Cordero is currently in the ICU, with what was thought to be pneumonia, but may be COVID-19.... (read more)

VIDEO: West End PHANTOM Orchestra Records 'All I Ask Of You' Response to Andrew Lloyd Webber
Andrew Lloyd Webber has been bringing beautiful music to us all from his home during these times of social distancing. ... (read more)

Social: Lin-Manuel Miranda, Tom Hanks and More Pay Tribute to Adam Schlesinger
The entertainment community is bereft at the loss of Emmy and Grammy winner and Oscar nominee Adam Schlesinger, who passed away today from coronavirus... (read more)