Tony Awards Audience Drops 14% to 3.5 Million Viewers on CBS

The Tony Awards are now available to re-watch on Paramount+.

By: Jun. 17, 2024
Tony Awards Audience Drops 14% to 3.5 Million Viewers on CBS
Get Access To Every Broadway Story

Unlock access to every one of the hundreds of articles published daily on BroadwayWorld by logging in with one click.

Existing user? Just click login.

The 2024 Tony Awards achieved a respectable 3.51 million viewers, though the numbers took a slight decline from last year.

According to TheWrap, the ratings were down 14% from last year’s June 11, 2023 telecast, based on Nielsen fast national data and estimated out-of-home viewership. Last year, the Tony Awards scored a winning 4.31 million viewers.

Both the 2023 and 2022 ceremonies also decreased ratings since the James Corden-hosted 2019 broadcast, which pulled in 5.5 million viewers.

On the social media front, #TonyAwards trended in the top 10 in the U.S. for at least four hours on X/Twitter, peaking at #2.

This will continue to be updated as more numbers are released.

The 2024 Tony Awards, hosted by Ariana DeBose, are now available to stream on Paramount+. Watch them here.

Winners included Stereophonic, The Outsiders, Hell’s Kitchen, Merrily We Roll Along, Sarah Paulson, Kara Young, and more. Check out the full list of winners here.

The ceremony featured performances from the casts of Stereophonic, Cabaret at the Kit Kat Club, Hell’s Kitchen, Illinoise, Merrily We Roll Along, Suffs, The Outsiders, The Who’s Tommy, and Water for Elephants.

The show also featured a performance from Nicole Scherzinger, who sang the 'In Memoriam' segment. She will make her Broadway debut next season in Sunset Boulevard.

Presenters during the Ariana DeBose-hosted broadcast included Utkarsh Ambudkar, Nate Burleson, Cynthia Erivo, Jesse Tyler Ferguson, Josh Gad, Renée Elise Goldsberry, Sean Hayes, Taraji P. Henson, Julianne Hough, Jennifer Hudson, Angelina Jolie, Nick Jonas, Idina Menzel, Ashley Park, Jim Parsons, Wendell Pierce, Ben Platt, Anthony Ramos, Andrew Rannells, Solomon Thomas, Taylor Tomlinson, Pete Townshend, Tamara Tunie, Adrienne Warren, Patrick Wilson and Jeffrey Wright.

Photo Credit: Theo Wargo/Getty Images for Tony Awards Productions