THE LEGEND OF GEORGIA McBRIDE's Dave Thomas Brown Wins Clive Barnes Theatre Award; American Ballet Theatre's Gabe Stone Shayer Wins For Dance

By: Jan. 11, 2016
Enter Your Email to Unlock This Article

Plus, get the best of BroadwayWorld delivered to your inbox, and unlimited access to our editorial content across the globe.

Existing user? Just click login.

Dave Thomas Brown, who starred as an awkward dive bar Elvis impersonator who finds his true calling as a drag artist in MCC's production of Matthew Lopez's THE LEGEND OF GEORGIA McBRIDE, was presented with the Sixth Annual Clive Barnes Award for Theatre this afternoon in a ceremony held at The Walter Reade Theatre at Lincoln Center. Gabe Stone Shayer of American Ballet Theatre was presented with the award for dance.

This year's Theatre Award was presented by 2015 Tony-Award-winner for YOU CAN'T TAKE IT WITH YOU and the star of Broadway's SYLVIA, Annaleigh Ashford. Blakeley White-McGuire, Principal Dancer with Martha Graham Dance Company presented the Dance Award. The New York Post's Michael Riedel, author of bestselling book "Razzle Dazzle: The Battle for Broadway," oversaw the Awards as Master of Ceremonies.

As the New York Times' theatre and dance critic from 1965 to 1977, Clive Barnes was one the most influential people in the city's performing arts scene for over a decade.

Throughout his professional life, Clive Barnes was caring and generous to his colleagues and friends; always ready to advise and listen. After his death, many condolence letters spoke of his generosity and practical help, especially to young people. In this spirit, The Clive Barnes Foundation was formed in 2009 to create Annual Awards giving recognition, encouragement, and financial support to two talented young professionals and, thus, honoring the memory of the many years of critical work and the warm personal generosity of Clive Barnes.

The Foundation gives an Annual Award to two talented young professionals in the artistic fields of dance and theatre. The finalists are nominated by the Selection Committee, which is comprised of a panel of critics and performers in each field.

Brown describes himself as North Carolina bred Sagittarius with a serious case of Peter Pan syndrome, and no interest in a cure. he previously appeared Off-Broadway in HEATHERS: THE MUSICAL He will be making his Broadway debut this April in the cast of AMERICAN PSYCHO.

Philadelphia-born Shayer attended the Bolshoi Ballet Academy Program in Moscow at age 15 and won First Place for Best Male Dancer. While in Russia, he performed for many dignitaries, including the President of Slovakia and Dr. Joseph Biden on the Vice Presidential visit to Moscow. Shayer joined the ABT Studio Company in September 2011, the main Company as an apprentice in April 2012 and the corps de ballet in November 2012.His repertoire with the Company includes the Head Fakir in "La Bayadère," Napoleon in 'Cinderella," the Lead Gypsy in 'Don Quixote," Harlequin, the Chinese Dance and the Russian Dance in Alexei Ratmansky's "The Nutcracker," Puss-in-Boots in Ratmansky's "The Sleeping Beauty,' Neapolitan Dance in "Swan Lake," Ariel in Alexei Ratmansky's "The Tempest" and roles in "After You," "Bach Partita," 'Company B," "Piano Concerto #1," "Raymonda Divertissements" and "Sinfonietta."

Also nominated in the theatre division was Jack DiFalco for MERCURY FUR, Austin P. McKenzie in the Deaf West Theatre's Broadway revival SPRING AWAKENING and, in an unusual move, Sandra Mae Frank and Katie Boeck shared a nomination for their joint performance as Wendla in SPRING AWAKENING, where roles are simultaneously played by deaf actors who sign their roles and hearing actors who voice them. Frank, who is deaf, and Boeck, who hears, are staged with a great deal of interaction playing the singular role of abused adolescent.

Nominees for dance included Catherine Hurlin of American Ballet Theatre, Joseph Gordon of New York City Ballet and Jacqueline Green of Alvin Ailey American Dance Theater

The Selection Committee for the Clive Barnes Award includes William H. Ausman, Siobhan Burns, Diana Byer, Frank DiLella, George Dorris, Barbara Hoffman, Arthur Mitchell, Patrick Pacheco, James Sutton, Valerie Taylor-Barnes, and Craig Wright.

The Clive Barnes Foundation Board of Directors includes Valerie Taylor-Barnes (Preisdent), William H. Ausman (Vice President), Brenda Anderson, Charles Askegard, Anthony Ferro, Paloma Herrera, Michelle Mathesius, Arthur Mitchell, Michael Riedel, Spring Sirkin, and Craig Wright.