Click Here for More Articles on THE VELOCITY OF AUTUMN

Photo Flash: First Look at Estelle Parsons & Stephen Spinella in Broadway's THE VELOCITY OF AUTUMN

Now in previews, The Velocity of Autumn is a 90-minute powder keg dark comedy by Eric Coble that stars Academy Award winner Estelle Parsons (Bonnie and Clyde, "Roseanne") and two-time Tony Award winner Stephen Spinella (Angels in America, Lincoln, "24"), is directed by Molly Smith and will open Monday, April 21, 2014. After every preview performance of the new critically acclaimed American play The Velocity of Autumn audience members will be invited to stay for a complimentary post-show "Inside Velocity" talkback, featuring different members of the cast and creative team. This limited Broadway engagement of The Velocity of Autumn follows a sold-out, critically acclaimed run at Washington DC's Arena Stage (Edgar Dobie, Executive Producer) in the fall of 2013. Check out a first look at Parsons and Spinella in action below!

THE VELOCITY OF AUTUMN swirls around Alexandra, a 79-year-old artist in a showdown with her family over where she'll spend her remaining years. In Alexandra's corner are her wit, her volcanic passion and the fact that she's barricaded herself in her Brooklyn brownstone with enough Molotov cocktails to take out the block. But her children have their own secret weapon: estranged son Chris who returns after 20 years, crawls through Alexandra's second floor window, and becomes the family's unlikely mediator. No sooner are the words "Hi, Mom" uttered than the emotional bombs start detonating. The Velocity of Autumn, written by Eric Coble and directed by Molly Smith, is a wickedly funny and wonderfully touching discovery of the fragility and ferocity of life.

THE VELOCITY OF AUTUMN has scenic design by Eugene Lee, costume design by Linda Cho, lighting design by Rui Rita, sound design by Darron L. West, wig design by Paul Huntley, and casting by Geoff Josselson. The Velocity of Autumn is produced by Larry Kaye & HOP Theatricals; Van Dean & The Broadway Consortium; Joan Raffe & Jhett Tolentino; Michael J. Moritz, Jr.; Catherine & Fred Adler; Rob Hinderliter & Dominick LaRuffa, Jr. and KIRN Productions in association with Neal Rubinstein; R. Erin Craig & Seiler-Smith/Franklin Theatrical & James Valletti; and James Simon & Stephen Ganns/Jonathan Demar. Associate producers are Joan & Marvin Rosenberg; Sharleen Cooper Cohen/John Perkoff & Michelle Schaap; Lauren Class Schneider and Craig J. Horsley/Michael Rubenstein.

Photos by Joan Marcus

buy tickets

Related Articles

From This Author BWW News Desk

Before you go...