Skip to main content Skip to footer site map
Click Here for More Articles on IF/THEN

Photo Flash: Actors' Equity Honors IF/THEN for 'Excellence in Diversity'

Today, Actors' Equity Association named If/Then the recipient of the "Extraordinary Excellence in Diversity on Broadway" Award for the 2013-14 theatrical season. The award honors shows that exemplify and promote the union's founding principles of diversity, inclusion and equal opportunity for all who work in the theatre. Accepting the award on behalf of the If/Then producers and creative team was the production's Casting Director, Bernard Telsey. Scroll down for a photo!

"Michael Greif, Tom Kitt, Brian Yorkey and David Stone wanted to create a realistic representation of New York City. And since no city is more diverse than New York, it was essential to them that we bring that to life on stage - and not just in one or two roles," said Telsey. He continued: "Since this city has the most incredible actors around, it was a joy to get to work on a project in which diversity was a part of its fabric and a necessity. Thank you, Actors' Equity, for recognizing this!"

"We are truly honored to acknowledge If/Then's extraordinary excellence in diversity," said EEO Committee Co-Chair Christine Toy Johnson. "The artistic choice to capture the contemporary world of New York City with a cast portrayal inclusive of various ethnicities and the LGBT community provides audiences with a more authentic view than is typically seen on the Broadway stage. If/Then is our city."

If/Then, which stars Tony winner Idina Menzel, is a musical that follows two parallel, distinct storylines of choice and chance in the life of Elizabeth, a city planner who moves back to New York City to start anew.

Past recipients of the Extraordinary Excellence in Diversity on Broadway Award are 110 in the Shade and LES MISERABLES (2006-07), Billy Elliot (2008-09), American Idiot (2009-10), The Merchant of Venice (2010-11), A Streetcar Named Desire (2011-12) and co-recipients Cinderella andThe Trip to Bountiful (2012-13).

Photo courtesy of Actors' Equity Association.

Photo Flash: Actors' Equity Honors IF/THEN for 'Excellence in Diversity'
Back row (left to right): EEO Committee Co-Chair Christine Toy Johnson, Cast Member Ann Sanders, Casting Director Bernard Telsey, Cast Member Jenn Colella and EEO Committee Co-Chair Julia Breanetta Simpson. Front row (left to right): Cast members Jason Tam, Marc DeLaCruz, Megan E. Lewis and Craig Burns of Telsey + Company.

Featured on Stage Door

Shoutouts, Classes, and More from Your Favorite Broadway Stars

Related Articles

More Hot Stories For You