Skip to main content Skip to footer site map

Photo Coverage: Opening Night of The History Boys

BroadwayWorld was there for the starry opening night of Alan Bennett's The History Boys, which opened on Sunday, April 23rd at the Broadhurst Theatre (235 West 44th Street) for a 20-week limited engagement. The show began previews on Friday, April 14th.

Director Nicholas Hytner returned to stage the Broadway production of The History Boys, which was previously a West End hit. "An unruly bunch of bright, funny sixth-form boys in pursuit of sex, sport and a place at university. A maverick English teacher at odds with the young and shrewd supply teacher. A headmaster obsessed with results and a history teacher who thinks he's a fool. Alan Bennett's The History Boys is about staffroom rivalry, the anarchy of adolescence and the purpose of education," according to press notes.

The boys are played by Samuel Anderson (Crowther), Samuel Barnett (Posner), Dominic Cooper (Dakin), James Corden (Timms), Sacha Dhawan (Akthar), Andrew Knott (Lockwood), Jamie Parker (Scripps) and Russell Tovey (Rudge). The teachers are played by Frances de la Tour (Mrs. Lintott), Richard Griffiths (Hector), Clive Merrison (Headmaster) and Stephen Campbell Moore (Irwin).

 Performances are Tuesday through Saturday at 8:00 PM, with matinees Wednesday and Saturday at 2:00 PM, Sunday at 3:00 PM. Tickets are on sale through Visit for more information.

Brian Dennehy

Malcolm Gets

Renee Taylor and Joe Bologna

Zoe Wanamaker

Cicely Tyson

Christopher Sieber

Barbara Walters

Kate Burton and Jane Krakowski

Nicholas Hytner (Director)

Constantine Maroulis

Ralph Fiennes

Sarah Paulson and Cherry Jones

Eileen Atkins

Stephen Daldry

Richard Griffiths, Clive Merrison, Frances de la Tour and Stephen Campbell Moore

Dominic Cooper, Russel Tovey, Sacha Dhawan, Rudi Dharmalingam, Andrew Knott, James Corden, Jamie Parker, and Samuel Barnett

Dominic Cooper and Samuel Barnett

Clive Merrison and Frances de la Tour

Richard Griffiths and Stephen Campbell Moore

The cast of The History Boys

Stephen Campbell Moore, Frances de la Tour, Samuel Barnett, Jamie Parker, and James Corden

Michael Cerveris

Candace Bergen

Josh Strickland (Tarzan)

Jonathan Pryce

Rufus Wainwright

Nicholas Hytner and Alan Bennett (Playwright)

Sacha Dhawan, James Corden, Dominic Cooper, Andrew Knott, Samuel Barnett, Jamie Parker, Rudi Dharmalingam, and Russel Tovey

Samuel Barnett and Jamie Parker

Dominic Cooper, Samuel Barnett and Jamie Parker

Andrew Knott, Rudi Dharmalingam, Russel Tovey, and James Corden

Stephen Campbell Moore

Clive Merrison

James Corden

Frances de la Tour

Stephen Campbell Moore, Richard Griffiths, Frances de la Tour, and Clive Merrison

Richard Griffiths

Related Articles

From This Author Ben Strothmann

Ben Strothmann has been a portrait and theatrical photographer since 1995. Since building his first darkroom in his hometown of Milwaukee WI, his portrait studio (read more...)