Skip to main content Skip to footer site map

Photo Coverage: Mary Poppins Press Reception

The Broadway production of Mary Poppins--currently a hit in London--opened on Thursday, November 16th at the New Amsterdam Theatre (Broadway at West 42nd Street) after beginning previews on Saturday, October 14th.  A star-studded press reception took place afterwards at the Ziegfeld Room in the New Amsterdam Theatre.

Ashley Brown plays the title role of Mary Poppins, and direct from the West End production of the show, Oliver Award-nominee Gavin Lee plays Bert.  Joining them are Daniel Jenkins (Mr. Banks), Rebecca Luker (Mrs. Banks), Jane Carr (Mrs. Brill), Mark Price (Robertson Ay), Cass Morgan (Bird Woman), Ruth Gottschall (Miss Andrew), and Michael McCarty (Admiral Boom). Katherine Doherty and Delaney Moro alternate in the role of Jane Banks. Henry Hodges and Alexander Scheitinger alternate in the role of Michael Banks

"Based on P.L. Travers's cherished stories and the classic 1964 Walt Disney film, Mary Poppins features the Academy Award-winning music and lyrics of Richard M. Sherman and Robert B. Sherman. The stage production has been created, in collaboration with Cameron Mackintosh, by Academy Award-winning screenwriter Julian Fellowes, who has written the book, and the Olivier Award-winning team of George Stiles and Anthony Drewe, who have composed new songs and additional music and lyrics," state Disney notes. Olivier Award-winning director Richard Eyre leads the award-winning creative team assembled for Mary Poppins with co-direction and choreography by Tony- and Olivier Award-winner Matthew Bourne.

Visit for tickets and more information.

Ashley Brown (Mary Poppins)

Gavin Lee (Bert)

Daniel Jenkins (George Banks) and Rebecca Luker (Winifred Banks)

Daniel Jenkins and Rebecca Luker

Ashley Brown and Gavin Lee

John Lasseler, Roy E. Disney (Disney legend and nephew of Walt Disney) and Thomas Schumacher (Producer)

Top Row: Matthew Bourne (Co-Director / Choreographer), Stephen Mear (Co-Choreorgrapher), Daniel Jenkins, Richard Eyre (Director), rebecca luker, Julian Fellowes (Book Writer); Bottom Row: Legendary Composer Richard M. Sherman, George Stiles (Composer) and Anthony Drewe (Composer)

Patrick Heusinger and Ashley Brown

Joel Grey

Rosie O'Donnell

Cameron Mackintosh (Producer and Co-Creator) and Thomas Schumacher (Producer)

Thomas Schumacher and Heather Headley

Up top: Legendary Composer Richard M. Sherman, Bottom Row: George Stiles, Legendary Composer Robert B. Sherman, Julian Fellowes and Anthony Drewe

Cameron Mackintosh and Thomas Schumacher with the representatives from the Kips Bay Boys & Girls Club who were one of the beneficiaries from the evening's charitable donation.

George Stiles, Julian Fellowes and Anthony Drewe

Stephen Mear, Richard Eyre, Julian Fellowes, George Stiles and Anthony Drewe

Roy E. Disney, Howard Harrison and Bob Crowley (Set & Costume Design)


Related Articles

From This Author - Linda Lenzi