Photo Coverage: Drama League Awards

By: May. 14, 2005
The Drama League announced the winners for The 71st Annual Drama League Awards, which were presented at its annual luncheon and ceremony on Friday, May 13, 2005.

The winners were: Doubt (Distinguished Production of a Play), Twelve Angry Men (Distinguished Revival of a Play), Dirty Rotten Scoundrels (Distinguished Production of a Musical), La Cage aux Folles (Distinguished Revival of a Musical), and Norbert Leo Butz (Distinguished Performance Award). Special awards were presented to Mike Nichols (The Julia Hansen Award for Excellence in Directing), The Billy Rose Theatre Collection at the NY Public Library at Lincoln Center (The Unique Contribution to the Theatre Award) and The BMI Musical Theatre Workshop (The Distinguished Achievement in Musical Theatre Award).

For more information on the awards, and the complete list of nominees, click here.


Casey Nicholaw

Michael Stuhlbarg and Jeff Goldblum

Frances Sternhagen

Julie Halston

Julie White

Sutton Foster

Doubt: Doug Hughes, Brían F. O'Byrne, Heather Goldenhersh, Cherry Jones, and John Patrick Shanley

Cherry Jones

Fritz Weaver

T.R. Knight

Martha Plimpton

John Lithgow

Robert Goulet

Robert Goulet and Gary Beach

Billy Crystal

Jim Dale

Billy Porter

B.D. Wong

Musical of Musicals - the Musical

Bill Irwin and Kathleen Turner

Kathleen Turner

Alan Alda

Alan Alda and Kathleen Turner

Marian Seldes and Norbert Leo Butz

Mercedes Ruehl

James Earl Jones and Leslie Uggams

Sara Ramirez

Gary Beach

Cheyenne Jackson

Christopher Sieber and Michael McGrath

Dirty Rotten Scoundrels: Jeffrey Lane, and David Yazbek

Altar Boyz: David Josefsberg, Scott Porter, Tyler Maynard, Andy Karl, and Ryan Duncan

Casey Nicholaw

Marian Seldes

Twelve Angry Men: Tom Aldredge and Michael Mastro

Heather Raffo

Jeff Marx and Robert Lopez

Ethan Hawke

Anthony Mackie

Norbert Leo Butz

Sherie Rene Scott and Norbert Leo Butz

Sherie Rene Scott

Spamalot: Christopher Sieber, John Du Prez, Sara Ramirez, Eric Idle, Michael McGrath, Steve Rosen, Casey Nicholaw

Estelle Parsons and Horton Foote

The 25th Annual Putnam County Spelling Bee

Orson's Shadow

Rose Rage: Scott Parkinson and Mark Montgomery

Victoria Clark

Eamonn Walker

Jessica Lange