Photo Coverage: American Theatre Wing Grants Luncheon

The American Theatre Wing's Grants Program honored its 2006 grant recipients, 53 New York City not-for-profit theatres that reflect the range of diversity of New York's theatres, at a luncheon at Sardi's on Thursday, December 7 at noon. 

As part of its longstanding mission of celebrating and supporting the very best in theatre, not just on Broadway, but in smaller, non-commercial venues, the American Theatre Wing provides funding to New York City not-for-profit theatre organizations to both honor and sustain their work. This year, the Wing provided $132,500 in support to the 53 not-for-profit theatres. Throughout the 50 years of the program, the Wing has donated close to $3 million .

Kirsten Childs, Michael Cumpsty, Eve Ensler, Johnny Galecki, Dana Ivey, Byron Jennings, Laurence Luckinbill, and Barbara Walsh were among the luncheon presenters, while Olympia Dukakis, Michael Greif, Bob Martin, Cynthia Nixon, and more attended as guests of theatre companies being honored.

The American Theatre Wing is best known as the creator of the Antoinette Perry "Tony" Awards, which it presents annually with the League of American Theatres and Producers.  The Wing's other activities, dedicated to recognizing excellence and supporting education in theatre, include "Working in the Theater", now in its 27th year of telecasts on CUNY TV in New York and on other national cable outlets; "Downstage Center," a weekly theatrical interview show on XM Satellite Radio;  "Guides to Careers in the Theatre," a video series developed for schools and libraries; the Theatre Intern Group, a career development program for young professionals; and SpringboardNYC, a two-week college-to-career boot camp for young performers moving to NYC.  Visitors to can view an archive of the seminars; the career guides and listen to "Downstage Center", all as free, on-demand streaming audio. Sondra Gilman is Chairman of the Board of the American Theatre Wing; Doug Leeds is President of the Board and Howard Sherman is Executive Director.

Bob Martin and Lucie Arnaz

Michael Cumptsy

Byron Jennings

Michael Greif

Cynthia Nixon

Joe Morton

Barbara Walsh

Dana Ivey

Bob Martin

Johnny Galecki

Doug Leeds and Charlotte St. Martin

Jack Cummings III and Barbara Walsh

Kirsten Childs

Sondra Gilman, Doug Leeds and Charlotte St. Martin

Lucie Arnaz and Doug Leeds

Dana Ivey and Michael Cumpsty

Laurence Luckinbill and Lucie Arnaz

Cynthia Nixon and Douglas Carter Beane

Marian Seldes

Marian Seldes and Lucie Arnaz

Olympia Dukakis and guest

Olympia Dukakis

Sondra Gilman addresses the audience

Related Articles

From This Author Mark Rupp

Mark Rupp Mark Rupp, aside from working in the film and modeling industries has been a working photographer for 20+ years. His work has been published in (read more...)

  • Photo Coverage: Jim Caruso's Cast Party Feb.4
  • Photo Coverage: Cast Party at Birdland Dec.3
  • Photo Coverage: Christine Pedi Guest Hosts Cast Party 8/13
  • Photo Coverage: Daniels and Talk Radio Stars at After Party
  • Photo Coverage: Animal Haven Soho Reception
  • Before you go...