Skip to main content Skip to footer site map
Click Here for More Articles on CHEYENNE JACKSON

Photo Coverage: 2005 Theatre World Awards

The Theatre World honors are awarded to performers for making their first major New York stage appearance (Broadway or Off-Broadway debuts). The 61st awards ceremony took place May 23 at Studio 54.

The 2005 Theatre World Awards winners are: Christina Applegate, Sweet Charity, Ashley Atkinson, Fat Pig, Hank Azaria, Monty Python's Spamalot, Gordon Clapp, Glengarry Glen Ross, Dan Fogler, The 25th Annual Putnam County Spelling Bee, Conor Donovan, Privilege, Heather Goldenhersh, Doubt, Carla Gugino, After The Fall, Jenn Harris, Modern Orthodox, Cheyenne Jackson, All Shook Up, Celia Keenan-Bolger, The 25th Annual Putnam County Spelling Bee and Tyler Maynard, Altar Boyz.

Created in 1944 by Theatre World founders Daniel Blum, Norman McDonald, and John Willis to coincide with the first release of Theatre World, the now 60-year-old definitive pictorial and statistical annual record of the American theatre, the Theatre World Awards are the oldest awards given for debut performances in New York City, as well as one of the oldest honors bestowed on New York actors.

A committee of New York drama critics currently chooses six actors and six actresses for the Theatre World Award, who have distinguished themselves in Broadway and Off-Broadway productions during the past theatre season. Votes are tabulated and coordinated by critic Peter Filichia, longtime Theatre World editor John Willis, and Theatre World associate editor Ben Hodges.


Kyra DaCosta (accepting the Award for Winner Christina Applegate - SWEET CHARITY)

Judy Kaye (Past Winner 1978)

Celia Keenan-Bolger (Winner - Spelling Bee)

Tyler Maynard (Winner - ALTAR BOYZ)

Michael McGrath (Past Winner 1996)

Brian F. O'Byrne (Past Winner 1998 / Presenter)

Estelle Parsons

Pat Suzuki (Past Winner 1959)

Hank Azaria, Michael McGrath and Tyler Maynard

Walter Willison (Past Winner 1971 / Presenter)

Tim Daly (Past Winner 1987) and Yvonne Woods

Conor Donovan (Winner - PRIVILEGE)

Dan Fogler (Winner - SPELLING BEE)

Joanna Gleason (Past Winner 1977 / Presenter)

Joanna Gleason and Gordan Clapp

Jenn Harris (Winner - MODERN ORTHODOX)

Linda Hart

Cheyenne Jackson (Winner - ALL SHOOK UP)

Lucie Arnaz (presenter)

Ashlee Atkinson (Winner - FAT PIG)

Lucie Arnaz

Hank Azaria (Winner - SPAMALOT)

Michael Cerveris

Dylan Baker

Gordon Clapp

John Cullum

Tim Daly (Past Winner 1987)


Related Articles
Vote Now for the Best of the Decade Awards

From This Author Walter McBride