Skip to main content Skip to footer site map
Click Here for More Articles on LIZA MINNELLI

Davi, O'Malley Join Cast Of BROADWAY MUSICALS OF 1931 3/30

Academy Award winner F. Murray Abraham (Amadeus), Mara Davi (The Drowsy Chaperone) and Kerry O'Malley (White Christmas) will join the cast of Broadway Musicals of 1931 on MONDAY, MARCH 30th, which is presented by The Town Hall (Executive and Artistic Director Lawrence Zucker). Now in its ninth season, the critically acclaimed Broadway By The Year® series is known for great singing and spectacular Broadway dancing. The series is created, written and hosted by Scott Siegel for The Town Hall.

The Broadway by the Year concerts have become, in the words of Variety critic Robert L. Daniels, "a proverbial hot ticket."

Broadway Musicals of 1931 will be directed by Tony Award nominee Brad Oscar (The Producers) and choreographed by Jeffry Denman (White Christmas). As previously announced, the two will also star in the show alongside Tony Yazbeck (Gypsy), David Pittu (Is He Dead, LoveMusik, What's That Smell), Chip Zien (Into the Woods), KendRick Jones (Stairway to Heaven), Melinda Sullivan (High School Musical), special guest star and Tony Award nominee Karen Akers (Nine, Grand Hotel) and more to be announced. There will also be at least one surprise special guest star!

This edition of the critically acclaimed series will include such famous shows as The Gang's All Here, The Band Wagon, The Cat and the Fiddle, Of Thee I Sing and more.

"I'm thrilled to present F. Murray Abraham to the Broadway by the Year audience," said series creator/writer/host Scott Siegel. "In addition to winning an Oscar for his performance in Amadeus, he starred alongside Betty Buckley in Triumph of Love. Mara Davi, who replaced Sutton Foster in The Drowsy Chaperone, will be making her Broadway by the Year debut with this show. And I'm also delighted to bring back Kerry O'Malley who was so wonderful in The Broadway Musicals of 1924 last month. ."

Built in 1921 by a group of suffragettes, The Town Hall began as a lecture hall and public forum for debates. Over the decades, Eleanor Roosevelt, Margaret Sanger, Billie Holiday, Igor Stravinsky, Bob Dylan and Miles Davis have graced the stage. Today the hall flourishes as a popular, affordable venue, boasting the hottest acts in rock, pop, folk, cabaret, world music, comedy and dance, including Billy Joel, Blondie, Elvis Costello, Natalie Merchant, Graham Nash, Liza Minnelli, Cyndi Lauper, Norah Jones, Andre Watts, Henry Rollins, Joe Jackson, Pink Martini, Regina Spector, Brian Adams, Aimee Mann and Dawn Upshaw. For over a decade, The Town Hall has hosted live broadcasts of Garrison Keillor's Prairie Home Companion. Over the past two-and-a-half decades, The Town Hall has produced a number of new and critically acclaimed musical series, which include The Century of Change, Not Just Jazz, Broadway by the Year® and The Broadway Cabaret Festival.

Scott Siegel has created three acclaimed and popular series for The Town Hall: Broadway By the Year®, now in its ninth season, the Broadway Cabaret Festival, and the Broadway Summer Festival. Mr. Siegel also conceived and produces both Broadway Unplugged and The Nightlife Awards at The Town Hall. Scott and his wife, Barbara, are authors (47 books, including The Encyclopedia of Hollywood) and critics ("The Siegel Column" and "The Two of Clubs" on Talkin' Broadway).

Tickets are $50 & $45 and are on sale now through TicketMaster, 212-307-4100,, The Town Hall Box Office between noon and 6 PM (except Sundays) at 123 West 43rd Street, 212-840-2824. For more information:


Related Articles

More Hot Stories For You