Click Here for More Articles on BC/EFA

Complete List of MAC Award Nominations, with 2 New Categories, is Announced

With the addition of two new categories--Best Male and Female Stand-Up Comic--the nominations list for the 2006 MAC Awards is now complete.

The awards will be presented on Monday, April 17th at 7:30 PM at the Tribeca Performing Arts Center at BMCC (199 Chambers Street). The 20th Annual MAC Awards show, hosted by Lee Roy Reams, will be highlighted by performances by honorees Betty Buckley, Clark Terry, Sheila Jordan, Phoebe Snow and Creation Nation, in addition to singer/songwriter Ben Taylor, MAC nominees for 'New York Debut' and other members of the cabaret, jazz and comedy community. Also scheduled to appear at the 2006 MAC Awards are Karen Mason, Carol Hall, KLea Blackhurst, Jamie de Roy, Rocky Carroll, Ruby Rims, Brandon Cuttrell and Natalie Douglas among others.

The list of nominations is as follows:

Female Vocalist

Lisa Asher
JeAnne MacDonald
Heather Sullivan
Diana Templeton
Lumiri Tubo

Male Vocalist

Colm Reilly
Craig Rubano
Marcus Simeone

New York Debut - Female

Suzanne Fiore
Terese Genecco
Rosalyn McClore
Alisa Schiff

New York Debut - Male

Jasper Kump
Matt Sigl
Evan Stern

Major Engagement

Barbara Brussell
Karen Mason
Sharon McNight

Cabaret Comedy / Musical Comedy

The Farley Brothers
Kate Pazakis
Adrianne Tolsch
Nancy Witter


Tommy Femia (Judy Garland)
Jimmy James (various divas)
Rick Skye (Liza Minnelli)

Variety Production/Recurring Series

Cabaret Cares (BC/EFA benefit series and gala)
Julie Gold (Fridays at the 'Plex)
Mostly Sondheim (hosted by Brandon Cutrell)


"A Marvelous Party" for Noel Coward
Mercer at the Movies
We Miss Nancy: The Storefront Sings LaMott

Special Production / Vocal Duo or Group

Eric Comstock & Barbara Fasano: Autumn Leaves
Sue Matsuki and Gregory Toroian: 10 Years in the Making
Jane Scheckter and Adam James: Let's Du-et!

Piano Bar/Restaurant Singing Entertainer

Leslie Anderson
Colm Reilly
Terri White

Piano Bar/Restaurant/Hotel Lounge Instrumentalist

Ricky Ritzel
Jerry Scott
Tracy Stark


Collette Black
Phil Geoffrey Bond
Ron Poole

Technical Director

MichaeL Barbieri
Thomas Honeck
Shane Mathews

Musical Director

Rick Jensen
Lanny Meyers
Ricky Ritzel


"Ev'ry Breath And Thought" - music by Henry Krieger, lyrics by Bill Russell
"Hamlet Lost" - music by Ted Kooshian, lyrics by Judy Barnett
"The Party Upstairs" - music by Ronny Whyte, lyrics by Francesca Blumenthal
"Sing You To Sleep" - music and lyrics by Steven Lutvak
"Warm As Winter" - music and lyrics by Nicholas Levin

Special Musical Material

"Dumped" - music and lyrics by Ritt Henn
"I Think About" -- music and lyrics by Ray Jessel
"Wipe That Egg Off Your Face" - music by Henry Krieger, lyrics by Bill Russell


KLea Blackhurst… "Autumn In New York: Vernon Duke's Broadway"
Barbara Brussell… "Lerner In Love"
Jeff Harnar… "Dancing In The Dark"
Lee Lessack… "In Good Company"
Karen Mason… "Sweetest Of Nights"

Jazz Recording

Bill Charlap… "Plays George Gershwin: The American Soul"
Dave Douglas… "Keystone"
Charles Hayden & The Music Liberation Orchestra… "Not In Our Name"
Joe Lovano… "Joyous Ensemble"
Sonny Rollins… "Without A Song: The 911 Concert"

Jazz Pianist

Benny Green
Fred Hersch
Mike LeDonne
Eric Reed
Renee Rosnes

Jazz Instrumentalist

Anat Cohen
Joel Frahm
WyCliff Gordon
Ingrid Jensen
Ted Nash

Jazz Duo/Group

Bill Charlap Trio
The Frank & Joe Show
David Ostwald & The Gully Low Band
Charles Tolliver Orchestra
Ray Baretto Sextet

Female Jazz Vocalist

Karrin Allyson
Carolyn Leonhart
Carmen Lundy
Kate McGary
Kendra Shank

Male Jazz Vocalist

Andy Bey
Freddy Cole
Kurt Elling
Allan Harris
Sachal Vasandani

Male Stand-Up Comic

Mike Birbiglia
Bill Burr
Eugene Mirman

Female Stand-Up Comic

Judy Gold
Jessica Kirson
Kristen Schaal

In addition, Lifetime Achievement Awards will be presented to Betty Buckley, Sheila Jordan, Donald Smith and Clark Terry. A Board of Directors Award will be presented to Phoebe Snow, and The Time Out New York Award will be presented by Adam Feldman to Creation Nation.

Related Articles

More Hot Stories For You

Before you go...

Like Us On Facebook
Follow Us On Twitter
Follow Us On Instagram instagram