Skip to main content Skip to footer site map
American Psycho
Click Here for More Articles on American Psycho

Breaking News: AMERICAN PSYCHO Sets June Closing Date

AMERICAN PSYCHO, the American premiere of the musical based on the iconic novel by Bret Easton Ellis has just announced that it will play its final performance on Sunday, June 5 at 7:30 p.m. At the time of its closing, American Psycho will have played a total of 81 performances. American Psycho is currently playing on Broadway at the Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre (236 West 45th Street).

PSYCHO's Broadway

Starring Drama Desk, Outer Critics' Circle and Drama League Award nominee Benjamin Walker (Bloody Bloody Andrew Jackson) as Patrick Bateman, AMERICAN PSYCHO has music, lyrics and orchestrations by Tony and Grammy Award-winner Duncan Sheik (Spring Awakening), a book by Roberto Aguirre-Sacasa ("Supergirl," "Looking," "Glee"), direction by Tony-nominee and Olivier Award-winner Rupert Goold (King Charles III), and choreography by Tony-nominee Lynne Page (La Cage Aux Folles).

Based on the best-selling novel by Bret Easton Ellis (which celebrated the 25th anniversary of its publication this spring), AMERICAN PSYCHOis set in the epicenter of excess: 1980s Manhattan. The musical tells the story of Patrick Bateman, a young and handsome Wall Street banker with impeccable taste and unquenchable desires. Patrick and his elite group of friends spend their days in chic restaurants, exclusive clubs and designer labels. But at night, Patrick takes part in a darker indulgence, and his mask of sanity is starting to slip...

Joining Benjamin Walker in the cast of AMERICAN PSYCHO are Outer Critics Circle Award-nominee Heléne Yorke (Bullets over Broadway, "Masters of Sex"), Tony Award-winner Alice Ripley (Next to Normal), Tony Award-nominee Jennifer Damiano (Next to Normal), and Drew Moerlein (Broadway debut). Also featured are Krystina Alabado(Lazarus, American Idiot), Dave Thomas Brown (The Legend of Georgia McBride), Jordan Dean (Shows For Days), Anna Eilinsfeld (Kinky Boots, Wicked), Jason Hite (Bare), Ericka Hunter (Rock of Ages), Holly James* (AMERICAN PSYCHO's London cast), Keith Randolph Smith(Fences, King Hedley II), Theo Stockman (American Idiot, Hair), Alex Michael Stoll (West Side Story, Evita, If/Then), and Morgan Weed (Next to Normal, Saved). Also featured in the company are Brandon Kalm (American Idiot tour), Sydney Morton (Memphis, Evita, Motown), Anthony Sagaria (The Bad Years), and Neka Zang (Rock of Ages).

AMERICAN PSYCHO has music direction by Jason Hart, and music supervision and vocal arrangements by David Shrubsole.

AMERICAN PSYCHO has scenic design by Tony-nominee and triple Olivier Award-winning stage designer Es Devlin (tours for Adele, Beyoncé, U2, Kanye West), costume design by Tony Award-winner Katrina Lindsay (Les Liaisons Dangereuses), lighting design by Tony-nominee and Obie Award-recipient Justin Townsend (Bloody Bloody Andrew Jackson, Here Lies Love), sound design by Obie Award-recipient Dan Moses Schreier, and video design by Tony Award-winner Finn Ross (The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time). Casting is byTelsey + Company/Craig Burns, CSA.

AMERICAN PSYCHO has been presented on Broadway by David Johnson and Jesse Singer for Act 4 Entertainment, Jeffrey Richards and Will Trice, along with Greenleaf Productions, Rebecca Gold, John Frost, Trevor Fetter, Joanna Carson, Gordon Meli Partners, Clip Service / A.C. Orange International, Nora Ariffin, Jam Theatricals, Almeida Theatre, Center Theatre Group, Paula and Stephen Reynolds, J. Todd Harris and The Shubert Organization, in cooperation with Edward R. Pressman.

AMERICAN PSYCHO received eight Outer Critics Circle Award nominations (Outstanding New Broadway Musical, Outstanding New Score, Outstanding Director of a Musical, Outstanding Actor in a Musical for Benjamin Walker, Outstanding Featured Actress in a Musical for Heléne Yorke, Outstanding Costume Design, Outstanding Lighting Design, Outstanding Projection Design) --- winning two Outer Critics Circle Awards for its Lighting Design (Justin Townsend) and Projection Design (Finn Ross) -- and also received two Drama League Award nominations (Outstanding Production of a Broadway or Off-Broadway Musical and Distinguished Performance for Benjamin Walker); eight Drama Desk Award nominations (Outstanding Director of a Musical, Outstanding Choreography, Outstanding Actor in a Musical for Benjamin Walker, Outstanding Set Design for a Musical, Outstanding Costume Design for a Musical, Outstanding Lighting Design for a Musical, Outstanding Projection Design, and Outstanding Sound Design in a Musical); and two Tony Award nominations (Best Scenic Design for a Musical for Es Devlin and Finn Ross, and Best Lighting Design for a Musical for Justin Townsend).

Related Articles

More Hot Stories For You