Click Here for More Articles on LIZA MINNELLI

Baldwin, Derosa, Lewis Join Cast Of BROADWAY MUSICALS OF 1944 At Town Hall 5/11

Broadway Musicals of 1944, will be presented by The Town Hall (Executive and Artistic Director Lawrence Zucker), on MONDAY, MAY 11TH at 8pm. Now in its ninth season, the critically acclaimed Broadway By The Year® series is known for great signing and spectacular Broadway dancing. The series is created, written and hosted by Scott Siegel for The Town Hall. The evening is directed and choreographed by Jeffry Denman, who will also be performing. Mr. Denman has just been nominated for a Fred Astaire Award.

The Broadway by the Year concerts have become, in the words of Variety critic Robert L. Daniels, "a proverbial hot ticket."

Broadway Musicals of 1944 will now star Kate Baldwin (Finian's Rainbow), Jeffry Denman (White Christmas, The Producers), Stephen DeRosa (Hairspray, Into the Woods), KendRick Jones (Stairway to Paradise), Shannon Lewis (Sweet Charity, Fosse), Sarah Jane McMahon (opera star who most recently sung with Placido Domingo), William Michals (South Pacific), Melinda Sullivan (High School Musical) and Tony Yazbeck (Gypsy, A Chorus Line).

This edition of the critically acclaimed series includes such famous shows as On the Town, Follow the Girls, Song of Norway, Bloomer Girl, Mexican Hayride and more.

Built in 1921 by a group of suffragettes, The Town Hall began as a lecture hall and public forum for debates. Over the decades, Eleanor Roosevelt, Margaret Sanger, Billie Holiday, Igor Stravinsky, Bob Dylan and Miles Davis have graced the stage. Today the hall flourishes as a popular, affordable venue, boasting the hottest acts in rock, pop, folk, cabaret, world music, comedy and dance, including Billy Joel, Blondie, Elvis Costello, Natalie Merchant, Graham Nash, Liza Minnelli, Cyndi Lauper, Norah Jones, Andre Watts, Henry Rollins, Joe Jackson, Pink Martini, Regina Spector, Brian Adams, Aimee Mann and Dawn Upshaw. For over a decade, The Town Hall has hosted live broadcasts of Garrison Keillor's Prairie Home Companion. Over the past two-and-a-half decades, The Town Hall has produced a number of new and critically acclaimed musical series, which include The Century of Change, Not Just Jazz, Broadway by the Year® and The Broadway Cabaret Festival.

Scott Siegel has created three acclaimed and popular series for The Town Hall: Broadway By The Year®, now in its ninth season, the Broadway Cabaret Festival and the Broadway Summer Festival. Mr. Siegel also conceived and produces both Broadway Unplugged and The Nightlife Awards at The Town Hall. Scott and his wife, Barbara, are authors (47 books, including The Encyclopedia of Hollywood) and critics ("The Siegel Column" and "The Two of Clubs" on Talkin' Broadway).

Tickets are $50 & $45 and are on sale now through TicketMaster, 212-307-4100,, The Town Hall Box Office between noon and 6PM (except Sundays) at 123 West 43rd Street, 212-840-2824. For more information:

Broadway By The Year® is supported by Bank of America and the Edythe Kenner Foundation.


Related Articles

More Hot Stories For You

Mariah Lyttle to Lead THE COLOR PURPLE 2019-20 Tour
TROIKA Entertainment announced today the tour cities and casting for the 2019-20 North American tour of the Tony Award-winning Broadway revival of THE... (read more)

Renée Fleming Will Lead a North American Tour of THE LIGHT IN THE PIAZZA
Renée Fleming will reprise her starring turn in The Light in the Piazza in the United States this fall. Adam Guettel and Craig Lucas' six-time Tony Aw... (read more)

Kristin Chenoweth Will Bring FOR THE GIRLS Solo Show to Broadway This Fall!
Kristin Chenoweth will return to the Broadway stage in a live concert celebrating the release of her new album FOR THE GIRLS (Concord Records, produce... (read more)

Lady Gaga Rumored to Be Considering Role in LITTLE SHOP OF HORRORS Film
Lady Gaga is surely a woman of many talents ranging from pop superstar to screen icon. With the success of her roles on American Horror Story and in A... (read more)

VIDEO: Hugh Jackman & Warren Carlyle Reunite Ahead of THE MUSIC MAN!
Meredith Willson's beloved classic, The Music Man starring two-time Tony Award, Grammy Award, and Emmy Award-winning star Hugh Jackman as Harold Hill ... (read more)

Broadway Playwrights Sound Off On Cell Phone Use At The Theatre
Social media discourse surrounding the playwright of SLAVE PLAY, Jeremy O. Harris broke out on Twitter after he shared on social media that the produc... (read more)