Click Here for More Articles on 2020 AWARDS SEASON

BWW TV: 2014 Lilly Awards Celebrate Kelli O'Hara, Winnie Holzman, Rebecca Naomi Jones & More!

Just last night, the Lilly Awards celebrated women of distinction in musical theater at Playwrights Horizons. As previously announced, the 2014 Lilly Award winners include Kristen Anderson-Lopez, Susan Bernfield, Johanna Day, Winnie Holzman, Joyce Ketay, Mary Mitchell Campbell, Rebecca Naomi Jones, Dominique Morrisseau, Kelli O'Hara, Jen Silverman, Jeanine Tesori and Liesl Tommy. The 2014 Lilly Award presenters included Neena Beber, John Doyle, Branden Jacobs Jenkins, Julia Jordan, Anne Kaufman, Lisa Kron, Tony Kushner, Kwame Kwei-Armah, Justin Levine,Audra McDonald, Marsha Norman, Steven Pasquale, Stephen Schwartz and Stacey Mindich.

BroadwayWorld's Richard Ridge was on the red carpet to chat with the recipients and some of the guests about the big night!

The Lilly Awards were started in the Spring of 2010 as a way to honor the work of women in the American Theater. The founders of The Lilly Awards, or The Lillys as they affectionately refer to them, are Julia Jordan, Marsha Normanand Theresa Rebeck. The awards are named for Lillian Hellman, a pioneering American playwright who famously said "You need to write like the devil and act like one when necessary." The awards continue in the tradition of her spirit and annually honor the work of women in the American Theater.

For additional information about the Lilly Awards (including a list of all past recipients), visit www.thelillyawards.org.

Related Articles

From This Author BroadwayWorld TV