Click Here for More Articles on 2017 AWARDS SEASON

BRIDGES OF MADISON COUNTY's Jason Robert Brown Wins Tony for Best Orchestrations

BRIDGES OF MADISON COUNTY's Jason Robert Brown Wins Tony for Best Orchestrations

Jason Robert Brown won the 2014 Tony for Best Orchestrations for THE BRIDGES OF MADISON COUNTY.

Jason Robert Brown was nominated both for Best Score and Best Orchestrations for his work on THE BRIDGES OF MADISON County this year. He won a Tony Award for PARADE in 1999 and was nominated for URBAN COWBOY in 2003, both in the Best Score category.

Brown is is the composer and lyricist of Parade, The Last Five Years, 13, Songs for a New World, and Honeymoon In Vegas (opens fall 2013 at Paper Mill Playhouse). He is the winner of the Tony Award (Parade), the Drama Desk Award (The Last Five Years, Parade), and the Kleban Award. With Marsha Norman, he created The Trumpet of the Swan, which he conducted with the National Symphony Orchestra. He tours the world with his band The Caucasian Rhythm Kings, with whom he has also recorded a CD, "Wearing Someone Else's Clothes."


With her family away at the 1965 state fair, Francesca Johnson looks forward to a rare four days alone on her Iowa farm. But when ruggedly handsome National Geographic photographer Robert Kincaid pulls into her driveway seeking directions, what happens in those four days may very well alter the course of Francesca's life. Based on the best-selling novel, and developed by a Pulitzer- and Tony Award-winning creative team, this new musical captures the lyrical expanse of America's heartland along with the yearning entangled in the eternal question, 'What if...?'"

The Bridges of Madison County stars four-time Tony Award nominee Kelli O'Hara (South Pacific, The Pajama Game) and Steven Pasquale (Rescue Me, reasons to be pretty). It features a score by Tony Award winner Jason Robert Brown (Parade, The Last Five Years) and a libretto by Tony Award and Pulitzer Prize winner Marsha Norman (The Color Purple, The Secret Garden). It will be directed by Tony Award winner Bartlett Sher (The Light in the Piazza, South Pacific), who reunites with his celebrated Tony Award-winning South Pacific design team, including scenic designer Michael Yeargan, costume designer Catherine Zuber, and lighting designer, Donald Holder. Sound Design is by Jon Weston (How to Succeed..., The Color Purple).

Related Articles

From This Author BWW Special Coverage

Before you go...