8th Annual Yale Drama Series Award Ceremony to be Held at Lincoln Center Theater, 9/11

8th Annual Yale Drama Series Award Ceremony to be Held at Lincoln Center Theater, 9/11

One of the theater world's most prestigious playwriting prizes, the Yale Drama Series Prize, will be given to Janine Nabers for her play Serial Black Face at the 8th annual Yale Drama Series Award Ceremony set for Thursday, September 11, 2014 beginning at 7:00 p.m. at Lincoln Center Theater (Claire Tow Theater, 150 West 65th Street, NYC). The award recipient was chosen by Pulitzer Prize-winning playwright Marsha Norman, who served as the judge for the 2013 and 2014 competitions.

The Yale Drama Series Prize is given out annually for a play by an emerging playwright, selected by a judging panel of one - a preeminent playwright of our time. The winner receives the David Charles Horn Prize of $10,000, as well as publication of the winning play by Yale University Press and a staged reading. Carolyn Cantor will direct a staged reading of the winning play Serial Black Face, which will follow the award ceremony.

The Yale Drama Series is an annual, international, open submission competition for emerging playwrights. Nabers' play was selected from 1,638 entries from 41 countries.

Previous winners of the Yale Drama Series Prize include John Austin Connolly (selected by Edward Albee in 2007), Neil Wechsler (selected by Edward Albee in 2008), Fraces Ya-Chu Cowhig (selected by David Hare in 2009), Virginia Grise (selected by David Hare in 2010), Shannon Murdoch (selected by John Guare in 2011), Clarence Coo (selected by John Guare in 2012) and Jen Silverman (selected by Marsha Norman in 2013).

For additional information about the Yale Drama Series, visit www.dchornfoundation.org.

Related Articles

From This Author BWW News Desk

Before you go...