Skip to main content Skip to footer site map

2016-17 Tony Awards Nominating Committee Revealed; See Who's New & Who's Returning!

The Tony Awards Administration Committee announced today the Nominating Committee for the 2016-17 Broadway season. The Tony Awards are presented by The Broadway League and the American Theatre Wing.

The Nominating Committee attends all productions during the Broadway season and meets on the date designated by the Administration Committee to determine, by vote, the Tony Award nominees for that season. The committee of Tony Nominators will include 51 members for the 2016-2017 season. Members of the committee serve a three-year term.

The 2016-2017 Nominating Committee includes:

- Adrian Bailey - Actor
- Victoria Bailey - Executive Director, Theatre Development Fund
- Luis Castro - Media and Entertainment Executive/Producer**
- Hope Clarke - Choreographer
- Paul Cremo - Dramaturg/Director of Opera Commissioning Program, The Metropolitan Opera
- Patricia Cruz - Executive Director, Harlem Stage/Aaron Davis Hall, Inc.**
- Trip Cullman - Director
- Edgar Dobie - Executive Producer, Arena Stage - Washington, DC**
- Scott Elliott - Director/Artistic Director, The New Group**
- Harvey Evans - Actor
- Sean Patrick Flahaven - Writer/ Composer/Orchestrator/ Conductor/Producer
- Paul Gallo - Lighting Designer
- Jenny Gersten - Former Executive Director, Friends of the High Line
- Daniel Goldfarb - Playwright, Bookwriter
- Sam Gonzalez - Dir. of Operations, Pfizer Medical/Board of Trustees, Playwrights Horizons
- Adam Gwon - Composer/Lyricist
- Roy Harris - Production Stage Manager
- Peter Hedges - Writer**
- Jack Hofsiss - Theatre, Film, Television Director
- Mara Isaacs - Founder and Director, Octopus Theatricals, LLC**
- Lou Jacob - Director at the New School for Drama
- Anne Keefe - Associate Artist, Westport Country Playhouse**
- Tom Kitt - Composer, Lyricist, Bookwriter
- Fran Kumin - Consultant, Perf. Arts Organizations/Foundations/University Theatre
- Michael John LaChiusa - Composer, Lyricist, Librettist**
- Kate Levin - Cultural Assets Management Principal, Bloomberg Associates
- Reynold Levy - Former President of Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts
- Patricia Marx - American Humorist and Writer, Former Television Writer
- Jim McLaughlin - Former Producer, CBS News/TV Feature and Documentary Producer
- Tony Meola - Sound Designer**
- Jessica Molaskey - Actor**
- Debra Monk - Actor
- Roger Morgan - Lighting Designer, Theatre Designer
- Laurence O'Keefe - Composer
- Katherine Oliver - Media and Technology Principal, Bloomberg Associates
- Christian Parker - Chair, Graduate Theatre Program, Columbia University
- Paige Price - Actor/1st Vice President of AEA/Executive Artistic Director, Theatre Aspen
- Ravi S. Rajan - Dean, School of the Arts - SUNY Purchase
- Paul Rudnick - Playwright, Novelist, Screenwriter, Essayist**
- Susan H. Schulman - Director/President, Stage Directors and Choreographers
- Mikki Shepard - Executive Producer, The Apollo Theatre**
- Warner Shook - Director
- Ellen Sorrin - Director, The George Balanchine Trust**
- Jessica Stone - Actor/ Director**
- Edward Strong - Producer
- Wynn Thomas - Production Designer
- Jose Antonio Vargas - Journalist/Filmmaker/Founder of Define American **
- Jennifer Von Mayrhauser - Costume Designer
- Tom Watson - Retired Executive, Television Advertising
- Preston Whiteway - Executive Director, The Eugene O'Neill Theater Center
- Evan Yionoulis - Director**

The 2016 American Theatre Wing's Tony Awards were presented by The Broadway League and the American Theatre Wing. At The Broadway League, Robert E. Wankel is Chairman and Charlotte St. Martin is President. At the American Theater Wing, William Ivey Long is Chairman and Heather A. Hitchens is President. Ricky Kirshner and Glenn Weiss of White Cherry Entertainment were the Executive Producers of the 2016 Tony Awards. Mr. Weiss will also served as Director of the 2016 Tony Awards.

**Denotes new Nominating Committee Member

Related Stories

More Hot Stories For You

Female-Run Theatre Company Will Memorialise Brixton's History In New KNOCK DOWN Performance Collaboration With BRIXTON HOUSEFemale-Run Theatre Company Will Memorialise Brixton's History In New KNOCK DOWN Performance Collaboration With BRIXTON HOUSE
August 17, 2022

Set against a backdrop of urban gentrification, economic change and social divide, women-led and run DROPPED TEA THEATRE is on a mission to crystallize the history of London's beautiful and varied communities through THEATRE and PERFORMANCE ART. Having previously focused on Peckham and Camberwell (KNOCK DOWN - Peckham and Camberwell) to high acclaim, their latest project (KNOCK DOWN - Brixton) focuses on upholding and preserving Brixton's vivid history in a fresh artistic collaboration with the new Brixton House. 

The Piano Guys Come to NJPAC Next MonthThe Piano Guys Come to NJPAC Next Month
August 17, 2022

Since their serendipitous start in a Southern Utah piano shop, THE PIANO GUYS have proven to be a powerhouse group without limits. Arriving as a musical phenomenon seemingly overnight, the quartet of JonSchmidt [pianist, songwriter], Steven Sharp Nelson [cellist, songwriter], Paul Anderson [producer, videographer], and Al van der Beek [music producer, songwriter] have delivered bold compositions that transcend boundaries of style and genre, a boundlessness that has since translated into a massively-successful career.

Photos: First Look at CRUISE, Now Playing at the Apollo TheatrePhotos: First Look at CRUISE, Now Playing at the Apollo Theatre
August 17, 2022

Olivier-nominated play CRUISE has returned to the West End for a strictly limited run at the Apollo Theatre from 13 August – 4 September.  Check out all new photos here!

BETWEEN THE LINES Will Close Off-Broadway September 11BETWEEN THE LINES Will Close Off-Broadway September 11
August 17, 2022

There are four weeks remaining to see the new Off-Broadway musical BETWEEN THE LINES before its  strictly limited engagement ends on Sunday, September 11, 2022 at the Tony Kiser Theater at Second Stage.

Beth Levin Headlines Meridian Performances SeasonBeth Levin Headlines Meridian Performances Season
August 17, 2022

Meridian Performances launches its new season on October 27 at 8 pm in Merkin Hall with a concert by Beth Levin, a pianist whose artistic fearlessness is matched by her technical excellence. Her program for the evening features an astounding array of showpieces: Pictures at an Exhibition by Modest Mussorgsky, Sonata in B Minor, S. 178 by Franz Liszt, and Portrait Miniatures: Three Women by Andrew Rudin.