SOUND OF MUSIC's Audra McDonald Among Nominees for 2014 Black Reel Awards

Five-time Tony Award winner Audra McDonald (Porgy & Bess, Ragtime, 110 in the Shade), who portrayed Mother Abbess in NBC's live broadcast of THE SOUND OF MUSIC has received a 2014 Black Reel Award nomination for Outstanding Supporting Actress, TV Movie or Mini-Series.

Her stunning performance of ''Climb Ev'ry Mountain' stopped the show and even brought tears to the eyes of her co-star Carrie Underwood.

McDonald won the Tony Award for Best Lead Actress in a Musical for her role of 'Bess' in THE GERSWIN's PORGY AND BESS. She earned three Tony Awards by the age of 28 - for her performances in Carousel, Master Class, and Ragtime. She was nominated for another Tony Award for her performance in Marie Christine before she won her fourth in 2004 for her role in A Raisin in the Sun. She reprised her Raisin role for a 2008 television adaptation, earning her a second Emmy Award nomination.

Her first Emmy nod came in 2001 for her performance in HBOs Wit. Fans of the small screen also regognize McDonald from her work on ABC's Private Practice.

The full list of nominations for the 2014 Black Reel Awards follows:

Outstanding Actor, Motion Picture


12 Years a Slave: Chiwetel Ejiofor
Lee Daniels' The Butler: Forest Whitaker
Mandela: Long Walk to Freedom: Idris Elba
Fruitvale Station: Michael B. Jordan
Blue Caprice: Isaiah Washington

Outstanding Actress, Motion Picture


The Best Man Holiday: Nia Long
The Call: Halle Berry
Trance: Rosario Dawson
Mother of George: Danai Gurira
Go for Sisters: LisaGay Hamilton

Outstanding Supporting Actor, Motion Picture


Captain Phillips: Barkhad Abdi
Lee Daniels' The Butler: David Oyelowo
Ain't Them Bodies Saints: Nate Parker
Blue Caprice: Tequan Richmond
Short Term 12: Keith Stanfield

Outstanding Supporting Actress, Motion Picture


Fruitvale Station: Melonie Diaz
Fruitvale Station: Octavia Spencer
12 Years a Slave: Lupita Nyong'o
Lee Daniels' The Butler: Oprah Winfrey
Mandela: Long Walk to Freedom: Naomie Harris

Outstanding Director, Motion Picture


12 Years a Slave: Steve McQueen
Lee Daniels' The Butler: Lee Daniels
The Best Man Holiday: Malcolm D. Lee
The Inevitable Defeat of Mister & Pete: George Tillman Jr.
Fruitvale Station: Ryan Coogler

Outstanding Screenplay (Adapted or Original), Motion Picture


Fruitvale Station: Ryan Coogler
12 Years a Slave: John Ridley
Black Nativity: Kasi Lemmons
The Best Man Holiday: Malcolm D. Lee
The Inevitable Defeat of Mister & Pete: Michael Starrbury

Outstanding Song


Despicable Me 2: Pharrell Williams (Performer & Writer)
For the song "Happy"
Lee Daniels' The Butler: Fantasia Barrino (Performer & Writer)
For the song "In The Middle of the Night"
Lee Daniels' The Butler: Gladys Knight (Performer), Lenny Kravitz(Writer)
For the song "You and I Ain't No More"
12 Years a Slave: Alicia Keys (Performer & Writer)
For the song "Queen of the Field (Patsey's Song)"
20 Feet from Stardom: Judith Hill (Performer & Writer)
For the song "Desperation"

More On: Audra McDonald, Carrie Underwood, Chiwetel Ejiofor, Lee Daniel, Forest Whitaker, Idris Elba, Isaiah Washington, Nia Long, Halle Berry, Rosario Dawson.

Comment & Share

Subscribe for News & Specials