Ballet Hispanico's 2014 Gala Raises Over $1 Million

Ballet Hispanico's 2014 Gala Raises Over $1 Million

Ballet Hispanico raised more than $1 million in support of the company's artistic and educational work in New York City and around the country at their 2014 Gala on Monday, April 7, 2014. During the evening, Ballet Hispanico proudly honored the Ford Foundation with the Civic Inspiration Award. Proceeds from the evening, which totaled over $1 million, will benefit the creation of new Company works, need-based financial aid and merit scholarships in the Ballet Hispanico School of Dance, and community arts education programs.

Close to 400 guests in attendance also received the exclusive announcement of a $1.5 million grant from long-time supporter the Ford Foundation, with portions allocated to Ballet Hispanico's choreography lab Instituto Coreográfico, to an expansive lobby renovation of Ballet Hispanico's headquarters in the Upper West Side, and to a cash reserve fund.

"The Ford Foundation's three decades-long commitment to Ballet Hispanico is well worth noting and celebrating," said Kate Lear, Chair of Ballet Hispanico's Board of Directors. "Instituto Coreográfíco, Ballet Hispanico's pioneering lab for emerging choreographers, exists in part because of their support. Because of the Ford Foundation's commitment, major capital improvements to Ballet Hispanico's home have been and will continue to be realized."

This year's Gala, themed "Community Partnerships through the Arts," featured live music from the two-time GRAMMY winning Spanish Harlem Orchestra along with performances by the Ballet Hispanico Company and students of the Ballet Hispanico School of Dance. The evening included an exclusive sneak peek of original costumes created by Venezuelan fashion designer Angel Sanchez for choreographer Gustavo Ramírez Sansano's stunning new work El Beso, to be premiered by Ballet Hispanico at the Company's New York Season at the Joyce Theater on April 15-27. Key attendees included Event Chairs Jody and John Arnhold, Kate Lear and Jonathan LaPook, and David Pérez and Milena Alberti, as well as Gala Honorary Committee co-chair Angel Sanchez. Other attendees included: Henry Arnhold, Gale Brewer, Michelle Caruso-Cabrera, Vin Cipolla, Phil Colon, Mary Sharp Cronson, Ray & Barbara Dalio, Joe & Diana DiMenna, Ansel Elgort, Joan Finkelstein, Perry & Martin Granoff, Lane Harwell, Judith M. Hoffman, Stephen Mack, Matthew & Monika McLennan, Mark & Lorry Newhouse, Ben Rodriguez-Cubeñas, Herb Scannell, Marta Tellado, Damian Woetzel & Heather Watts.

Advertisement Advertisement Advertisement Advertisement Advertisement Advertisement Advertisement Advertisement