Click for More Articles on NEW YORK CITY...

Dramatists Guild of America Teams with Kyle Ewalt and Michael Ian Walker for DG Conservatory, 2/11

Stephanie Salzman (Composer/Lyricist/Songwriter) is a 4th generation New Yorker, recorded multi Platinum, Grammy nominated songwriter, composer/lyricist, and vocal producer. Recording credits include: Whitney Houston, 3LW/Cheetah Girls, Gretchen Espina (Philippines Idol winner), Miki Howard (Grammy nominated), etc. TY/Film credits: Buffy the Vampire Slayer, The Shield, etc. Awards/scholarships include NAPM, Hammerstein/Tisch Foundation, ASCAP, Meet the Composer and PENN Writers' Society. Her NYU Musical Theater MFA program thesis musical was directed by Tom O'Horgan. Current projects: Crossing Over, an Amish hip hop musical written with Deborah Brevoort which received a USA Artist studio recording budget through USA Artists. Crossing Over was recently selected for the inaugural 2013 ASCAP New Musical Theater Festival at the Lied Center in Nebraska. There will be a reading of the entire musical at Lied in March 2014. Left To Our Own Devices, a high energy, pop/rock dance musical for young audiences written with bookwriter EllaRose Chary, was named a 2013 Ronald M. Ruble New Play Festival Finalist with readings at the Caryl Crane Youth Theater and Momentum New Works Festival, NYC.

Stephanie directs Power Pitch Music Studios where she coaches, co-writes, vocal produces and develops young artists. For more info, reviews (NY Times, Rolling Stone, Billboard), etc. please visit:

Deborah Brevoort is best known for her play The Women of Lockerbie, which is performed throughout the United States and internationally. She is a two-time winner of the Frederick Loewe Award in musical theatre for King Island Christmas with David Friedman and Coyote Goes Salmon Fishing with Scott Richards. She wrote the opera librettos for Embedded (composer: Patrick Soluri), commissioned by the American Lyric Theater and Steal a Pencil for Me (composer Gerald Cohen.) She also wrote a new adaptation of Die Fledermaus for the Anchorage Opera. Other musical works include Blue Moon Over Memphis, a Noh drama about Elvis Presley. Her plays include The Poetry of Pizza, The Comfort Team, The Blue-Sky Boys, The Velvet Weapon and others. Her work is published by Dramatists Play Service, Samuel French, and Applause Books. No Passport Press will publish two anthologies of her plays in 2014. Brevoort is an alumnus of New Dramatists and a member of ASCAP. She teaches at Goddard College and NYU's Graduate Musical Theatre Writing program. For more information on Crossing Over, visit

Tim Rosser and Charlie Sohne are finalists for the 2013 Ebb Award. Their most recent show was The Boy Who Danced on Air (2013 NAMT Festival of New Works, 2013 Rodgers Award Finalist, developed through The Lark's Monthly Meeting of the Minds and Roundtables). Previously, they wrote The Profit of Creation (2011 Yale Institute for Musical Theater, one of ten finalists for the O'Neill Music Theater Conference 2011 and 2012, developed at The Lark and through ASCAP's 2010 Johnny Mercer Songwriters Program) and the short musical Political Speeches (The Culture Project's IMPACT Series). Their work has been seen in a sold-out 54 Below Show, Cutting Edge Composers at Joe's Pub, NYTB at the D-Lounge, NEXT's Emerging Composers Series, and The Holiday Concert at the Lincoln Center Library. They were both members of the Advanced Class of the BMI Workshop.

Ewalt and Walker are currently at work on two commissions; one from Broadway Across America, and Pumped, a fashionable new musical about the world of designer shoes. Their show, Bromance: The Dudesical was most recently performed in sold-out concerts at Joe's Pub and Caroline's on Broadway, and has been developed by GroundUp Productions. Other shows include Separate: Battle Songs of Youth, selected by Ars Nova for ANTFEST 2010, and The Making of Madeline Moore (The Merc NYC 2009). Their work has been seen in Michigan, Toronto, and London, and in New York at Playwrights Horizons, Joe's Pub, Theater Row, Galapagos Art Space, 92YTribeca, and as part of the We Are the Song Benefits for the After the Storm Foundation. They are also the curating producers of the musical theater series Behind the Music-al, now produced with The Dramatists Guild of America, which has featured songwriters including Adam Guettel, Stephen Flaherty, Duncan Sheik, Larry O'Keefe, Ryan Scott Oliver, Kerrigan & Lowdermilk, Joe Iconis, and Adam Gwon, amongst many others.

« Page 1

Related Articles

Comment & Share

About Author

Subscribe to Author Alerts