Jeremy Leidhecker Wins CINE's 2015 Marvin Hamlisch Film Scoring Contest

Article Pixel

CINE is pleased to announce the winners and runners­up of the Marvin Hamlisch Film Scoring Contest for Emerging Composers. Jeremy Leidhecker of Williamsport, PA, was selected by CINE's distinguished jury as the contest winner and recipient of the Marvin Hamlisch Award.

Mr. Leidhecker - a second runner­up in last year's CINE Film Scoring Contest, renamed last November in honor of Marvin Hamlisch - will receive the award at the CINE Celebrates reception in New York City on October 7, 2015.

University of Michigan student Carlos Simon of Atlanta, GA, was named the contest's first runner­up. Jesse Bouvier of Los Angeles, a recent graduate of Cal State Northridge's Music Composition department, was named second runner­up.

The winning and runner­up scores can be viewed at

A distinguished jury selected the contest winners and runners­up: Academy Award­winning composer Mychael Danna (Best Original Score, Life of Pi, 2012); multiple BMI­ Award­-winning composer and Emmy nominee George S. Clinton (former Chair of Film Scoring at Berklee College of Music); and Emmy Award­winning music editor, supervisor and conductor Daniel Carlin (Chair of Scoring for Motion Pictures and Television at USC's Thornton School of Music).

As the winner of the Marvin Hamlisch Contest, Mr. Leidhecker receives a prize package valued at over $1,200, including Spectrasonics Omnisphere Power Synth 2; CineStrings CORE, courtesy of Cinesamples; Shure SRH940 Professional Reference Headphones; and automatic submission to the composer pool of

The contest runners up will receive additional prizes courtesy of Shure and CINE samples.

500 composers from 50 countries and 40 US states participated in this year's Marvin Hamlisch Contest. Each composer submitted a new score to the CINE Golden Eagle Award­winning animation Flip by Jill Hackett (provided courtesy of Ringling College of Art + Design's Computer Animation department). In May, 11 contestants were named as Finalists.

For more information on the Marvin Hamlisch Film Scoring Contest for Emerging Composers, visit For more information about the life and legacy of Marvin Hamlisch, visit


Jeremy Leidhecker - Winner, Marvin Hamlisch Film Scoring Contest

Jeremy Leidhecker holds a B.S. in Music Education from Indiana University of Pennsylvania (Indiana, PA), a Master's Degree in Conducting from Messiah College (Grantham, PA), and currently resides in Williamsport, PA. Jeremy toured with the world champion Cavaliers Drum and Bugle Corps (Rosemont, IL) for two summers (2007 and 2008), and was the high school band director of the Northern York County School District from 2009 to 2013. Currently, Jeremy is pursuing a career in film scoring and composition, and is an active arranger and composer for marching bands and schools around the United States. See more of Jeremy's work at h?ttp://

Carlos Simon - First Runner Up, Marvin Hamlisch Film Scoring Contest

Carlos Simon's music is deeply rooted in the tradition of neo­romanticism with contemporary influences of passionate lyricism and driving rhythms. Simon's musical vocabulary stretches from Classical, Gospel, and Jazz. Carlos Simon holds a Bachelor of Arts in Music from Morehouse College (Piano and Composition) and a Master of Music degree from Georgia State University (Composition). His music appears nightly on the Herman Cain Show in 2010. He has compositions published by Gregorian Institute of America (GIA) Publications. He has participated in workshops and masterclasses led by orchestrator and composer, Conrad Pope and will participate in the ASCAP/NYU Film Scoring Workshop this June. Mr. Simon is currently studying composition with emphasis in film music at the University of Michigan in Ann Arbor, Michigan. See more of Carlos's work at w?

Jesse Bouvier - Second Runner Up, Marvin Hamlisch Film Scoring Contest

Jesse Bouvier is a Los Angeles based composer, originally from Flagstaff, Arizona. Specializing in Film music, he has grown to explore and learn from many different genres and instruments. These influences continue to shape and expand his voice, and provide a substantial musical vocabulary from which to pull his inspiration. Jesse is a 2015 graduate of the Media Composition department at Cal State, Northridge. See more of Jesse's work at

Mission: CINE honors and champions the creators of exceptional media content.

Founded in 1957, CINE has evolved over the years from a public­ private partnership with the US State Department to accredit U.S. documentary and industrial films in the international arena to establishing itself as a premier awards program honoring excellence in film, television and digital media.

Our commitment is to honor excellence in media with a focus on originality and storytelling through a transparent, juried selection process. To best meet the needs of every level of media maker, the CINE Golden Eagle Awards are split into distinct cycles for Professional, Independent & Emerging, and Student & Youth Media. Evaluation criteria and distinguished jury are openly published on CINE's website, and each entrant receives the comments of the review panels after Golden Eagle Award results are announced to understand and learn from that feedback.

In 2012, CINE launched its first Film Scoring Competition for Emerging Composers, renamed in November 2014 after legendary composer Marvin Hamlisch. The 2015 Marvin Hamlisch Film Scoring Contest for Emerging Composers drew 500 participating composers from 50 countries and 40 US states.

CINE Golden Eagle Award­winning alumni are working throughout the industry. For some, such as S?teven Spielberg (1969) and Ken Burns (1981), it was their first major industry recognition; others, such as Martin Scorsese (2006), Barbara Kopple (1992) and Spike Lee ( 1999) were honored well into their illustrious careers.

For more information about CINE, the Golden Eagle Awards, our distinguished alumni and the Marvin Hamlisch Film Scoring Contest, visit

Related Articles View More Washington, DC Stories   Shows

From This Author Movies News Desk