Skip to main content Skip to footer site map

Ensemble Studio Theatre And Radio Drama Network Announce Lineup For 37th Marathon Of One-Act Plays


Ensemble Studio Theatre And Radio Drama Network Announce Lineup For 37th Marathon Of One-Act Plays

Ensemble Studio Theatre (EST) (William Carden, Artistic Director, Sarah McLellan, Executive Director) and the Radio Drama Network (Melina Brown, President) announced today the lineup for the 37th Marathon of One-Act Plays. This year's selection of fifteen plays were chosen from 1120 submissions. They will be presented across three different series from Sunday, May 12, 2019 through Saturday, June 29, 2019."

Now held biennially, the Marathon has been a landmark New York theatre festival since 1977. Praised by critics and beloved by audiences, it launched an industry-wide revival of the short play form, breaking new ground by putting emerging and established writers together on one stage. John Patrick Shanley, Romulus Linney, Julia Cho, Taylor Mac, Wendy Wasserstein, and John Guare have all premiered new work at the festival, while recently produced Marathon playwrights include Clare Barron, Christopher Shinn, Robert Askins, Bekah Brunstetter, Leah Nanako Winkler, Anna Ziegler, and Lloyd Suh. Martyna Majok was awarded the 2018 Pulitzer Prize for Cost of Living, a play which originated in the 2015 Marathon of One-Act Plays.

Series A will begin on Sunday, May 12 and conclude on Saturday, June 1:

The Lepers by Daniel Damiano

Directed by Matthew Penn

I'm So Sorry by Amy Fox

Directed by Morgan Gould

Tricycle Backflip by Dan Giles

Directed by Matt Dickson

Rosie by Lily Houghton

Directed by Danya Taymor

Low Power by Jon Kern

Series B will begin on Tuesday, May 28 and conclude on Monday, June 24:

Tempo by Harron Atkins

Directed by Colette Robert

Oh My, Goodness by Cayenne Douglass

Directed by William Carden

Privilege by Susan Kim

The Extinctionist by Amanda Quaid

Directed by Pamela Berlin

The Guard Will Escort You to the Ruff-Ruff by Carole Real

Directed by Will Pomerantz

Series C will begin on Sunday, June 9 and conclude on Saturday, June 29:

Jesus in Manhattan by Kate Atwell

Directed by Linsay Firman

Fall by France-Luce Benson

The Tourists by Stephen Brown

Directed by Courtney Ulrich

I Believe in a Republic in Which Money has a Great Deal to Say by Julia Specht

Directed by Jamie Richards

Mandarin Duck by Lloyd Suh

The creative team for the 37th Marathon of One-Act Plays will include scenic designer Frank Oliva (The Merry Wives of Windsor), lighting designer Greg MacPherson (Killer Joe), sound designer Almeda Beynon (Dido of Idaho), costume designer Izzy Fields (Till We Meet Again), and props designer Caitlyn Murphy (Travisville).

Casting and additional directors will be announced at a later date.

Tickets are $25 for a single performance, with a 3-series pass available for $60. Student and senior tickets are available for $20. Tickets are on sale now at

Performance dates and times vary-please check for more information.

Related Articles View More Off-Off-Broadway Stories

Featured on Stage Door

Shoutouts, Classes & More

More Hot Stories For You