TUNE IN TIME to Return with Halloween Show at York Theatre Company

They're baaaaaaaaack! The York Theatre Company welcomes the return engagement of the game show for musical theater lovers, Tune in Time, presented by Amy Engelhardt and Heather Shields.

Hosted by Emily McNamaraand featuring Music Director Nate Buccieri and Annoyingly Insistent Timekeeper Sheila Head, the show happens at The York Theatre Company at Saint Peter's (Citicorp Building, entrance on East 54th Street, just east of Lexington Avenue).

The fall season of Tune in Time launches in October with an installment that celebrates the horror musical genre, featuring a panel of judges from spooky musicals like Bat Boy, Little Shop of Horrors, and all things vampire. Songwriters include three returning players-champion Landon Braverman (Queen of the West), his writing partner Derek P. Hassler (The White Rose), and Jimmy Fisher (Lasagna Mañana), with newcomers Gretchen Midgley (Wendy), Erin Murray Quinlan (Hemingway's Wife), and Meghan Rose(HELD, A Musical Fantasy). Two-time Tune in Time player Clare Cooper subs as Music Director. The eerie judges' panel will include Lee Wilkof (the original "Seymour" in Little Shop of Horrors) and two other scary judges to be announced. Bring your best costume-or your worst!-and join the freaky fun on Monday, October 31, 2016 at 7:00 p.m.

In November, Tune in Time celebrates Thanksgiving with an evening dedicated to turkeys-not the bird, but the hallowed tradition of the Broadway Flop! The line-up of songwriters will include returning champions Avi Amon (The White City), Drew Fornarola (Super Claudio Bros.), and Clay Zambo (Modern Living), alongside first-time Tune-in-Timers Amanda D'Archangelis (Blatantly Blaine), Billy Recce (Balloon Boy: The Musical and former York Intern), and Alex Rubin (Dust and Ash). Come witness the stuffing on Monday, November 28, 2016 at 7:30 p.m.

Tune in Time gets a New Deal for Christmas in December with a night themed around everyone's favorite little redheaded orphan with not one, not two, but three songwriting teams who will be split for the night-two of them also married couples! We'll be dividing lyricist Michele Foor and composer Frank Spitznagel (Serving Time), lyricist Jill Abramovitzand composer Brad Alexander (Bread and Roses), and lyricist Jessica Fleitman (Show of Hands) and returning composer Rick Bassett (Burning Up). The judges' panel might just be composed entirely of former Annies! Witness the celebration on Monday, December 12, 2016 at 7:30 p.m.

In this "Musical Theater Olympics," three teams of composers and lyricists who have never worked together are forced to collaborate - and to beat the clock. Their task? They must write a song for a new Broadway musical, the title of which is picked from a hatful of audience suggestions - and in a style determined by a spin of the dreaded Genre Wheel - all within 20 minutes! Tune in Time is an evening of edge-of-your-seat suspense, brain-frying bravery, and musical theatre magnificence. Each edition of Tune in Time features a different roster of musical theater composers and lyricists as well as a panel of celebrity judges.

General Admission tickets for Tune in Time are priced at $20 and can be purchased online at www.yorktheatre.org, or by visiting the York Theatre Company Box Office (Citicorp Building, entrance on East 54th Street, just east of Lexington Avenue), or by calling the Box Office at (212) 935-5820 during regular business hours (Monday through Friday, 12:00 p.m. to 6:00 p.m.).

Previous winners have included Rebekah M. Allen and Jonathon Lynch for "Everything I Do (Makes People Cry)" from the nonexistent children's musical The Dancing Onion; Benjamin Halstead and Garth Kravits with the disturbing, experimental Alpaca Farm-RUN!; Meghan Kelleher and Adam Spiegel for the jazz-inflected title song from Ethiopia Rocks!; Christiana Cole and Joe Kinosian for their experimental assault on the inside of the piano, the outside of the proscenium, and the concept of luncheon meat from The Sweating Smörgåsbord;and Landon Braverman and Jordan Mann for their love anthem "Retweeter," from the disco-era musical The Capricious Hashtag (anachronism be damned). Earlier champions include Bill Nelson and Brad Simmons, Lisa DeSpain and Sarah Ziegler, David Gomez and Zach Redler, Kellen Blair and Dave Christensen, Kate Anderson and David Sisco, Dan McKenzie and Ben Wexler, Erik Jareth Ransom and Clay Zambo, and Avi Amon and Robbie Torres.

York Theatre Company offers the York Membership Program, an exclusive membership package for as low as $75.00-with elite benefits that includes a 30% discount on tickets to York Theatre Productions, exclusive member pre-sale opportunities, 50% off on all lobby concessions, 20% off on all lobby merchandise, in addition to special member-only receptions. The York also offers a York Plus! Membership Program with additional perks, including complimentary tickets to Mainstage productions and invites to several VIP-only presentations throughout the season.

York Memberships can be purchased online at www.yorktheatre.org/membership, or by visiting the York Theatre Company Box Office (Citicorp Building, entrance on East 54th Street, just east of Lexington Avenue), or by calling the Box Office at (212) 935-5820 during regular business hours (Monday through Friday, 12:00 p.m. to 6:00 p.m.).

For additional information, visit www.yorktheatre.org.

The York Theatre Company is the only theatre in New York City-and one of very few in the world-dedicated to developing and fully producing new musicals and preserving neglected, notable shows from the past. For over four decades, York's intimate, imaginative style of producing both original and classic musicals has resulted in critical acclaim and recognition from artists and audiences alike. Under the guidance of Producing Artistic Director James Morgan since 1997, the York has focused on new musicals in its Mainstage Series-most of them world, American, or New York premieres-by some of the field's most esteemed creators, and has also helped launch the careers of many talented new writers. Over 35 cast recordings from York Theatre Company productions are now available on CD, including its acclaimed revival of Closer Than Ever (2013 Off-Broadway Alliance Award for Best Revival); commercial transfers of such York premieres as The Musical of Musicals (The Musical!), Souvenir (Tony Award Nomination for actress Judy Kaye), and Jolson & Company, and revivals of Pacific Overtures and Sweeney Todd (four Tony Nominations including Best Revival) have all showcased the importance of the York and its programs. Recent hits have included Rothschild and Sons, Plaid Tidings and Cagney, currently playing to sold-out houses at the Westside Theatre starring Robert Creighton as James Cagney and members of the original York Cast.

Related Articles View More Off-Broadway Stories   Shows

More Hot Stories For You