Catherine Hicks, Parvesh Cheena, Mackenzie Phillips, Peri Giplin & More to Perform in Blank Theatre's 20th Anniversary Young Playwrights Festival 5/31-6/24


More than 50 actors are set to participate in The Blank Theatre's 20th Anniversary Young Playwrights Festival, including Catherine Hicks (7th Heaven), Laura Silverman (The Sarah Silverman Program), Mackenzie Phillips (American Graffiti, One Day At A Time), Peri Gilpin (Frasier), Josh Randall (Greek, Scrubs, Dusk Rings A Bell at The Blank), Lenny Jacobson (Nurse Jackie, Sukie & Sue: Their Story at The Blank), Zach Roerig (The Vampire Diaries), and Matthew Moy (2 Broke Girls). Twelve winning plays by young playwrights aged 9 -19, from nine different states, will be presented during this year's festival at the Stella Adler Theatre in Hollywood, running from May 31- June 24.

Other notable performers appearing in the Festival are Shanna Collins (Swingtown), Jill Larson (All My Children), Daniel Hugh Kelly (Ryan's Hope), Melissa Claire Egan (The Young and the Restless), Dylan Sprayberry (Man of Steel), Michael Grant (The Secret Life of the American Teenager), Angel Parker (Lab Rats), Parvesh Cheena (Outsourced), Sprague Grayden (Six Feet Under, Jericho), Sean Maher (Party of Five), Larry Poindex

The Blank Theatre's 20th Anniversary Young Playwrights Festival plays Thursday, Friday, and Saturday at 8pm and Sunday at 2pm, beginning May 31 and running through June 24 at the Stella Adler Theatre, 6773 Hollywood Boulevard (at Highland), in Hollywood. Each week's program includes three plays. Tickets are $20 for adults and $14 for students. Festival Passes, which include one ticket for each week, are $64.ter (CSI, JAG), and Jack Laufer (Mad Men).

On Sunday, June 3 at 6pm, The Blank Theatre will present 20 Years of Winners: Scenes, Songs, and Speeches from 20 Years of the Young Playwights Festival. Benefitting The Blank, a 501 (c) (3) non-profit arts organization, this one-night-only event will feature many stars of stage, screen, and television, scheduled to include (in alphabetical order) Ed Asner, Barbara Bain, Nicholas Brendon, Brianna Brown, Dale Dickey, Daisy Eagan, Kat Foster, Thea Gill, Peri Gilpin, Lenny Jacobson, Michael E. Knight, Tom Lenk, Scott Lowell, Justina Machado, Allison Mack, Virginia Madsen, Angel Parker, Jessy Schram, Rex Smith, Jennifer Stone, DB Sweeney, Kirsten Vangsness, Gedde Watanabe, Virginia Williams, Steven Weber, Noah Wyle, BellAmy Young, and Constance Zimmer.

The 20 Years of Winners event will take place at Avalon Hollywood, 1735 N. Vine Street, in Hollywood. Tickets for performances in the Young Playwrights Festival at the Stella Adler Theatre (prices above), and for the benefit evening ($50-$250) may be purchased online at, or by calling (323) 661-9827.


Related Articles View More Los Angeles Stories   Shows

More Hot Stories For You

Before you go...

Never Miss a Story
Like Us On Facebook
Follow Us On Twitter
Follow Us On Instagram instagram