Skip to main content Skip to footer site map

Previews: STIRS UP STILL THINGS at ISHIDA Dance

Breathtaking Modern Dance lands at the MATCH this weekend!

ISHIDA Dance Company is bringing its modern dance showcase named "stirs up still things" to the MATCH complex from January 5th through the 8th. Their last performance in Houston was a breathtaking journey through modern dance which became one of the highlights of my year as a performing arts critic. If the past is any indication, this is one you do not want to miss! The level of skill is amazing, and on par with any professional Houston dance company. And the choreographers brought in to work on the pieces are world renowned. I got a chance to ask questions of the company's founder and artistic director Brett Ishida, and this this what followed:

What are ISHIDA's roots here in Houston?

I first connected with the Houston dance scene when I was a very young teen attending Houston Ballet's summer intensive. When I formed ISHIDA, I wanted to go back to Houston to perform, because I recognized how appreciative the Houston community is for dance. During the pandemic we had several performances canceled in 2020 and 2021 in Houston. We finally performed in Houston in March and August of 2022. Many of our dancers have roots growing up in Houston and we also work with Houston Ballet dancers.

What is the inspiration for this show and why is it named "stirs up still things"?

"stirs up still things" is indebted to a fragment by Sappho from over 2500 years ago. Sappho was a lyric poet from the island of Lesbos in Greece who ran an academy and had a family. She wrote about things that were happening in her time and about intimacy. Her fragments are evocative just like the pieces in this program.

How do you work on these pieces with choreographers from all over? Are they present for the rehearsal process, or is a lot done over remote instructions through Zoom or something similar?

This unique program includes 4 world premieres. For creations, the choreographers are always here in person working with our talented team of dancers.

When did the company form, and what is its mission?

We formed in 2019 and had our first performances which sold out right before the pandemic in January 2020. The Mission of ISHIDA Dance Company is to transform everyday being through meaning-filled, world-class contemporary dance and in collaboration with local organizations to bring the healing nature of dance to underserved communities.

ISHIDA Dance presents original ISHIDA poetic narratives as well as works by exciting new choreographers working with some of the most sought-after dancers (Houston Ballet, Juilliard, Ballet BC, LINES, Nederlands Dans Theater, GöteborgsOperans Danskompani, English National Ballet) from Texas and around the world. These unique works aim to invite empathy and introspection to lead to greater kindness towards oneself and the community.

ISHIDA also provides free educational outreach performances and workshops to at-risk youth and underserved communities to cultivate and enrich appreciation for contemporary dance and to provide engagement opportunities with the art form that nurture self-esteem and social and emotional wellbeing.

What are your plans for becoming a part of the Houston dance scene?

As we become a full time company, we plan to expand our performances to 5 different programs a year, deepen our commitment with working with local nonprofits in Houston, sponsor galas and all the other special events that one would anticipate from a major player in the Houston arts scene.

"stirs up still things" will run at the MATCH Theater Complex in Midtown from January 5th through the 8th. Tickets are available through the MATCH website through the link provided.



Professor Paul Liptz, 2023 Horvitz Scholar in Residence, Comes to The Evelyn Rubenstein JC Photo
​​​​​​​The Evelyn Rubenstein JCC (the J) Professor Paul Liptz will speak on Israel at 75: The Fascinating Story of Modern Israel as this year's Bunny and Leo Horvitz Scholar-in-Residence, Feb. 13- 28.

Ucross And Houston Ballet Announce New Dance Residency Photo
​​​​​​​Ucross and Houston Ballet have joined forces to establish an exciting new resource for choreographers and dancers, the Lauren Anderson Dance Residency at Ucross. The new fellowship will provide Houston Ballet choreographers and performers with four weeks of uninterrupted time and space at the acclaimed artist residency program in northern Wyoming.

Interview: Christina Wells brings to life Mama from CHICAGO at Theatre Under The Stars Photo
One of the most fun people I've had the pleasure to speak to, Christina Wells currently lives the dream as a professional singer and motivational speaker. Now she's playing 'Mama' in the national tour of Chicago.

National Youth Theater to Present THE SOUND OF MUSIC in March Photo
National Youth Theater has announced their upcoming production of The Sound of Music, the world's most beloved musical, set to be performed in March.


From This Author - Brett Cullum

Brett Cullum has been part of the Houston and Memphis Theatre scenes for several decades now. He's been seen on community theatre and professional stages in several cities including Playhouse 1... (read more about this author)


Review: STIRS UP STILL THINGS at Ishida Dance CompanyReview: STIRS UP STILL THINGS at Ishida Dance Company
January 6, 2023

If true art is the ability to tell a story through a medium, then what this group has achieved is a remarkable level of marrying movement with narrative. Rarely have I witnessed dance where emotions and poetry are so clear, and performed with such passion.

Previews: STIRS UP STILL THINGS at ISHIDA DancePreviews: STIRS UP STILL THINGS at ISHIDA Dance
January 3, 2023

If the past is any indication, this is one you do not want to miss! The level of skill is amazing, and on par with any professional Houston dance company. And the choreographers brought in to work on the pieces are world renowned.

Review: THE COLORED FOLKS GOOD TIME HOUR at Vincent Victoria PresentsReview: THE COLORED FOLKS GOOD TIME HOUR at Vincent Victoria Presents
December 15, 2022

After seeing this film, I can’t get Cherry Cola Pitts out of my mind. He haunts me in the best of ways. Vincent embodies the character so well, and there are moments where you can see a sadness emerge from behind the otherwise leering prankster.

Review: CRUEL INTENTIONS - THE 90S MUSICAL at The Garden TheatreReview: CRUEL INTENTIONS - THE 90S MUSICAL at The Garden Theatre
November 19, 2022

It’s a rock musical featuring all of the naughty behavior of the original film and marries it to the “hits of the day” that were hot when it came out. Innuendos about “booty sex” merge with Backstreet Boys hits in a jukebox musical that revels in the absurdity of the original concept.

Review: COYOTE ON A FENCE at Dirt Dogs TheatreReview: COYOTE ON A FENCE at Dirt Dogs Theatre
October 31, 2022

This is a morally complex piece of theater, and luckily the cast is up to the challenge of bringing these people to life without judgment or any trace of hesitation. The language, the situations, the truths, are all difficult matters that have to be handled directly and confidently.