BWW Feature: Wright State University Announces THE GRAPES OF WRATH

BWW Feature: Wright State University Announces THE GRAPES OF WRATHWright State University Theatre continues its 43 rd season with a John Steinbeck novel adapted by Frank Galati THE GRAPES OF WRATH, which will be running from February 1 st - 11 th in Wright State University's Festival Playhouse.

Winner of the 1990 Tony Award and Outer Critics Circle Award, THE GRAPES OF WRATH was originally penned by John Steinbeck, a Pulitzer Prize winner. The play adapted by Frank Galati follows the Joads, a family of sharecroppers in Oklahoma. The family is driven west by the Depression and the drought of the Dust Bowl. They pile into a truck and head to California seeking farm work. But the Golden State isn't the land of riches they had hoped for.

The Wright State production of THE GRAPES OF WRATH is directed by Marya Spring-Cordes (The Music Man, The Children's Hour). The set design is by Pam Knauert-Lavanway (No, No Nanette, Peter Pan), lighting design by Emily Hope (Heathers: The Musical, Urinetown), Projection Design by Matthew Benjamin (Restoration!, Fiddler on the Roof) costume design by Elizabeth Bourgeois (9 to 5), properties by John Lavarnway, and sound design by James Dunlap.

The production features Christine Fiala (Reverend Casey), Dylan Tacker (Tom Joad), Louis Kurtzman (Al Joad), Nick Martin (Noah Joad), Hailey Noll (Ruthie Joad), Eric Pettit (Winfred Joad), Mackenzie Stephens (Rose of Sharon), Isaac Ingle (Pa Joad), Alexia Vlahos (Ma Joad), Eli Davis (Grandpa), Haley Knuth (Grandma), Joe Green (Uncle John), Aaron Roitman (Connie Rivers), Understudies include Sophie Kirk, Justin Mathews, Ross Bloedorn, Thomas Sheffer, Julie Deye, Caitlyn Shiner, Logan Kitchens, Madisyn Warren, Mallory Kraus, George Heddleston, Jeremy Farley. Instrumentalist include Lauren Everett, Colin Hodgkins, David Bays. Ensemble includes Lauren Everett, Mallory Kraus, Brynnan McNeill, Sophie Kirk, Donnasia Allen, Caitlyn Shiner, Colin Hodgkins, David Bays, Jeremy Farley, Rayquon Brown, Everett Walker, Ross Bloedorn, Logan Kitchens, Christian Schaefer, George Heddleston. Swings include Tina Hohman, Margo Russ, Shae Bickel, Dean McKenzie, Thomas Sheffer.

Performances are February 1 st , 2 nd , 7 th and 8 th at 7:00p; February 3 rd , 9 th, 10th at 8:00p; and February 4 th, 10 th and 11 th at 2:00p. Tickets are $22 for adults and $20 for students and senior citizens. For tickets and theatre information call the Box Office at (937) 775-2500, or purchase single tickets online at

The above release and photo were provided courtesy of Wright State University

Related Articles View More Dayton Stories   Shows

From This Author Jenni Cypher

Before you go...

Like Us On Facebook
Follow Us On Twitter
Follow Us On Instagram