Skip to main content Skip to footer site map

Akvavit Theatre to Present BLUE PLANET in 2015

Akvavit Theatre presents the United States premiere of Icelandic author Andri Snær Magnason's Blue Planet, February 11 - March 15, 2015 at the DCASE Storefront Theater, 66 East Randolph St. This family-friendly "integrated theater" piece is based on Magnason's award-winning "eco-lit" children's book,The Story of the Blue Planet, and is directed by Wm. Bullion. The performance schedule for Blue Planet is Thursdays - Saturdays at 7:30 p.m. and Sundays at 2 p.m. Special $10 previews are Wednesday, Feb. 11 and Thursday, Feb. 12 at 7:30 p.m. Opening/press night for Blue Planet is Friday, Feb. 13 at 7:30 p.m. The play runs approximately 90 minutes with no intermission. Regular ticket prices are $15 for single tickets, $10 for industry/students/ seniors, and $5 for children under 12 (with accompanying adult). Preview tickets are $10 adults/$5 children. Tickets go on sale December 1 at www.tix.com or by phone at 1.800.595.4849 and at the door the night of performances, based on availability.

Best friends Hulda and Brimir live on a planet much like Earth-populated only by children. They live a simple but ideal life. When they meet an adult, the mysterious Jolly-Goodday. they are promised a life of greater joy, even more spectacular fun, but at what cost? The exuberance of Peter Pan, the wonder of the myth of Icarus, mixed with an eco-conscious message, Blue Planet is a family-friendly and lively integrated theatrical experience using movement, puppetry, aerial dance and object work with traditional elements of storytelling. The performance is sure to illuminate, entertain and inspire.

The New York Times Sunday Book Review raved about Magnason's book: "The Story of the Blue Planet... is in the tradition of Roald Dahl and Maurice Sendak... a Seussian mix of wonder, wit and gravitas." Blue Planet was first seen in the U.S. as part of Akvavit Theatre's Nordic Spirit 2012 festival of staged readings.

The complete cast and crew for Blue Planet includes Sarah Scanlon (Hulda), Joshua Davis (Brimir), Michael T. Downey (Jolly-Goodday), Moira Begale (Elva), Kim Boler (Loa), Mark Lancaster (Magni), Linsey Falls (Bjarki); and Kirstin Franklin*, Beau Forbes, Deborah Craft, Caroline Kwan, Tom McGrath and Amber Robinson (ensemble).

The production team for Blue Planet includes Wm. Bullion* (director), Chad Eric Bergman* (scenographer), John Kelly (lighting), Kim Morris (costumes & puppets), Adam MacAleavey (puppets), Will Huff (composer and sound), Nicole Jordan (movement choreography), Krista Mickelson (production manager), John Morrison (assistant director), Alan Weusthoff (technical director) and Phil Claudnic (stage manager).

*Indicates Akvavit Theatre company member.

Andri Snær Magnason (Playwright) is an Icelandic writer, born in Reykjavik. Magnason has written novels, poetry, plays, short stories, essays and CDs. He is the co-director of the documentary film Dreamland. His work has been published or performed in more than 30 countries. His novel, LoveStar was nominated for the Philip K Dick Award 2013, was chosen "Novel of the Year" by Icelandic booksellers and received the DV Literary Award. His book, The Story of the Blue Planet, was the first children's book to receive the Icelandic Literary Prize and has been published or performed in 26 countries. The Story of the Blue Planet received the Janusz Korczak Honorary Award 2000 the West Nordic Children's Book Prize 2002 and The Green Earth Honor Award 2013. The play based on the story has been performed in Finland, Switzerland, Iceland, Poland, Canada and most recently in Iran. Magnason has collaborated with various artists, mostly with a band called múm. He has been active in the fight against the destruction of the Icelandic Highlands. Magnason is also the winner of the Kairos Award of 2010 - granted by the Alfred Toepfer institute in Hamburg.

Akvavit Theatre is a new voice in the Chicago theatre scene. Taking as our inspiration the striking landscapes of the five Nordic countries-harnessing the force of the glacier, in its powerful seeming stillness, the volcano, in its sudden white-hot eruption, and the arctic silence in between-we strive to find the universal through the voices of the Nordic world. This is our contribution to the American mosaic. And like our namesake drink, Akvavit brings a "strong spirit" to the plays, workshops and events that we produce. Skål, Skál, Kippis!

Akvavit Theatre presents Andri Snær Magnason's Blue Planet, February 11 - March 15, 2015 at the DCASE Storefront Theater, 66 East Randolph St. The performance schedule for Blue Planet is Thursdays - Saturdays at 7:30 p.m. and Sundays at 2 p.m. Special $10 previews are Wednesday, Feb. 11 and Thursday, Feb. 12 at 7:30 p.m. Opening/press night for Blue Planet is Friday, Feb. 13 at 7:30 p.m. The play runs approximately 90 minutes with no intermission. Regular ticket prices are $15 for single tickets, $10 for industry/students/seniors, and $5 for children under 12 (with accompanying adult). Preview tickets are $10 adults/$5 children. Tickets go on sale December 1 at www.tix.com or by phone at 1.800.595.4849 and at the door the night of performances, based on availability.


Related Articles View More Chicago Stories

NOS Dance

More Hot Stories For You