Skip to main content Skip to footer site map

ALL IS LOST Soundtrack by Alexander Ebert Released 10/1

Community Music announced that it will release the All Is Lost Original Motion Picture Soundtrack on October 1st, 2013. The soundtrack features ten original compositions and one new song all written, composed, and produced by Edward Sharpe and the Magnetic Zeros' frontman Alexander Ebert. This new body of material is the sonic companion to the forthcoming film All Is Lost that will be released on October 18th by Roadside Attractions and Lionsgate domestically and by Universal Pictures International everywhere else. The Soundtrack features the first solo work from Ebert since his heralded solo album Alexander in March 2011. The final song on the soundtrack, entitled "Amen", is available for streaming on Soundcloud. To listen, click HERE.

Ebert said of the experience, "This project was a dream - an open space to play in but also space to listen to the elements - wind, water, rain, sun, are the story's other characters to me. I knew I had quite a task ahead of me: to at once allow the elements to sing and to give Redford a voice with which to, once in a while, respond."

Starring Academy Award winner Robert Redford, All Is Lost is an open-water thriller about one man's battle for survival against the elements after his sailboat is destroyed at sea. Written and directed by Academy Award nominee J.C. Chandor (Margin Call) the film is a gripping, visceral and powerfully moving tribute to ingenuity and resilience. The film premiered to great accolades at the 2013 Cannes International Film Festival and will be released in the United States on Friday, October 18, 2013.

Musically, Ebert lends his unique musical perspective to create a body of work that echoes and adds to the intensity of the film as the viewer finds an unnamed man (Redford) deep into a solo voyage in the Indian Ocean. He wakes to find his 39-foot yacht taking on water after a collision with a shipping container left floating on the high seas. With his navigation equipment and radio disabled, the man sails unknowingly into the path of a violent storm and soon finds himself staring his mortality in the face.

Pre-order 'All Is Lost' Soundtrack on iTunes

Track Listing

01. Excelsior

02. All Is Lost

03. Virginia's Dream

04. The Infinite Bleed

05. The Invisible Man

06. Pulse of the Weight

07. Dance of the Lilies

08. The Instincts of Boredom

09. Somewhere in the Midnight of Summer

10. Excelsior and the All Day Man

11. Amen

Featured on Stage Door

Shoutouts, Classes, and More from Your Favorite Broadway Stars

Related Articles View More TV Stories

From This Author Movies News Desk