2016 GEICO ESPN High School Football Showcase to Feature College Football's Next Generation

The 2016 GEICO ESPN HIGH SCHOOL FOOTBALL Showcase will feature matchups between some of the top HIGH SCHOOL FOOTBALL programs from across the country. The 12-game schedule, which spans over ten weeks, begins Friday, Sept. 2, and will continue through Friday, Nov. 4. This year's showcase will see 67 ranked players from ESPN 300 (Class of 2017) and ESPN Junior 300 (Class of 2018), including athletes who have committed to Division I programs-Alabama, Clemson, Florida, FSU, Georgia, LSU, Maryland, Michigan, Notre Dame, Ohio State, Oregon, Stanford, TCU, Texas A&M and USC. Among those schools, eight will have quarterback commitments on display. Additionally, numerous other potential and verbally committed Division I COLLEGE FOOTBALL players will participate who are not ranked.

Two of the top teams will face off on Friday, Sept. 30, when No. 1 St. Thomas Aquinas visits No. 3 Bishop Gorman at 10 p.m. ET on ESPNU. Other teams highlighted in this year's showcase include No. 4 IMG Academy, No. 9 DeMatha, No. 15 DeSoto and No. 16 John Curtis, as well as California School for the Deaf, which was spotlighted on SILENT NIGHT Lights, an E:60 feature. A total of 11 states will be represented in this season's showcase.

Combined with the previously announced 2016 ESPN High School Kickoff, ESPN will televise 22 HIGH SCHOOL FOOTBALL games across ESPN, ESPN2 and ESPNU this season.


  • No. 1 Position Players: Six players are ranked No. 1 in the country in their respective positions: ATH Dylan Moses (IMG Academy), CB Shaun Wade (Trinity Christian), DE Robert Beal (IMG Academy), OC Cesar Ruiz (IMG Academy), RB Najee Harris (Antioch) and S Jeffrey Okudah (South Grand Prairie)
  • No. 3 Ranked Player: Alabama verbal commitment and No. 3 overall player Najee Harris will be tested on Friday, Sept. 23, when Antioch faces De La Salle
  • QB Battle: Two top-5 pocket-passer QBs will square off when No. 2 Dylan McCaffrey and Valor Christian host No. 4 Davis Mills and Greater Atlanta Christian on Friday, Sept. 9
  • Future Buckeyes: Six Ohio State verbal commitments will participate including No. 13 CB Shaun Wade (Trinity Christian), No. 30 DE Chase Young (DeMatha), No. 48 S Isaiah Pryor (IMG Academy), No 112 DT Haskell Garrett (Bishop Gorman), No. 127 QB Tate Martell (Bishop Gorman), and No. 128 CB Marcus Williamson (IMG Academy)

Related Articles View More TV Stories

From This Author TV News Desk