The Colburn School's Calidore Quartet Advance to Finals of the 61st ARD Music Competition

The Calidore String Quartet (violinists Jeffrey Myers and Ryan Meehan, violist Jeremy Berry, and cellist Estelle Choi) will perform in the Finals of the 61st ARD Music Competition in Munich, Germany to be streamed live (www.ardmusikwettbewerb.de) from the Prinzregententheater on Saturday, September 15th.

The Calidore is the only US ensemble to be accepted into the competition, and is one of four ensembles to advance to the Finals from a beginning pool of 16 (also advancing are the Armida Quartett from Germany, the Novus String Quartet from South Korea, and Quatuor Zaïde from France).

One of the exciting, rising young ensembles to recently emerge on the chamber music scene (they formed at The Colburn Conservatory of Music in 2010), the Calidore will perform two works in the Finals: Bartok’s String Quartet No. 3, and Schubert’s String Quartet in D Minor, D 810 “Death and the Maiden”, to take place at 4:00 PM CEST-Munich /7:00 AM PDT- California/10:00 AM EDT-New York.



Related Articles View More Music Stories

More Hot Stories For You

Before you go...

Never Miss a Story
Like Us On Facebook
Follow Us On Twitter
Follow Us On Instagram instagram
   
popup