Ghostlight Records Releases Crawley & Lippa's A LITTLE PRINCESS On CD

Ghostlight Records Releases Crawley & Lippa's A LITTLE PRINCESS On CD

Today, September 13, 2011, Ghostlight Records released the world premiere recording of Brian Crawley and Andrew Lippa's new musical, A Little Princess, everywhere music is sold. To hear song previews and order the album, visit

Loosely adapted from a novel by Frances Hodgson Burnett, this new musical version of A Little Princess has a book and lyrics by Crawley and music by Lippa. The recording features a lineup of Broadway stars, including Sierra Boggess, Will Chase, Julia Murney, Laura Benanti, Nikki Renee Daniels, Titus Burgess, Remy Zaken, Morgan James, Michael McElroy and many more.

The album was produced by Andrew Lippa and edited and mixed by Joel Moss. The track list for A Little Princess is as follows:

1. Overture
2. Good Luck, Bonne Chance
3. Soon, My Love
4. Live Out Loud
5. Let Your Heart Be Your Compass
6. Isn't That Always the Way
7. Lucky
8. If the Tables Were Turned
9. Soldier On
10. Another World
11. Almost Christmas
12. Once Upon A Time
13. Broken Old Doll
14. Timbuktu
15. Soon
16. Finale

Music Theatre International (MTI) will exclusively represent the performance rights for A Little Princess around the world. The musical already has generated significant interest in the stock and amateur markets, particularly in schools, many of which study the Burnett novel upon which the original musical is based. Hal Leonard Will publish and release the show's vocal selections songbook.

Following the album release, Texas State University will present a four-night concert version of A Little Princess from October 16-19, with the final performance live streamed on the web for audiences across the country. The concert will feature new material added since the musical's world premiere production at TheatreWorks in Palo Alto, CA in 2004, and a 20- piece orchestra conducted by composer Lippa. In addition to directing the show, head of the musical theater program Kaitlin Hopkins (Noises Off, Bat Boy) will be performing the role of Miss Minchin, alongside her husband, faculty member and Broadway actor Jim Price (Civil War, Bat Boy), as Captain Crewe. The rest of the roles will be played by students in the Texas State University Musical Theatre program. Performances will be held Oct. 16-19th at the Texas Music Theater in San Marcos, TX. For tickets and more information<

Brian Crawley wrote the book and lyrics for Violet (composer Jeanine Tesori) which won the Lucille Lortel Award for Outstanding Musical as well as the New York Drama Critics Circle Award for Best Musical over all the year's Broadway offerings. For the libretto of Violet, Brian won the prestigious Kleban Award.

Tony-nominated Broadway composer and lyricist Andrew Lippa (The Addams Family) is currently Composer in Residence for the Musical Theatre program at Texas State and has been commissioned with funds from the university's Harrison New Musical Commission to create a new work to be developed and premiered at the school.

ABOUT SH-K-BOOM/Ghostlight Records
Sh-K-Boom with its imprint Ghostlight Records has become the leading independent force in Original Broadway Cast Recordings - building a library of over 100 records the last 10 years, featuring the most successful Broadway musicals and solo albums by Broadway's biggest stars. Founded by Kurt Deutsch and wife Sherie Rene Scott, the label was created by and for the Broadway community and has garnered acclaim not only for their high-quality recordings, but for their innovative marketing techniques and efforts to reach the next generation of Broadway music fans via iTunes, social networking, music videos and more. Ghostlight recently celebrated a major milestone with their release of The Book of Mormon, which became the first Broadway cast recording to break into Billboard's Top 10 (topping out at #3) since the original 1969 release of Hair, as well as taking its place as the biggest-selling digital release of a cast recording of all time. Also just released on the label are the OCRs of Catch Me If You Can, Sister Act and Women on the Verge of a Nervous Breakdown, as well as solo albums from some of Broadway's biggest stars: Sutton Foster, Kelli O'Hara, Alice Ripley, Christine Ebersole, Melissa Errico and Ben Vereen. In recent Broadway seasons, Ghostlight has preserved the scores of some of Broadway's most well-known musicals, including the Grammy Award-winning In the Heights, plus Next to Normal, Hair, Bloody Bloody Andrew Jackson, Legally Blonde, Everyday Rapture, Passing Strange, Dirty Rotten Scoundrels, The 25th Annual Putnam County Spelling Bee and The Drowsy Chaperone. Coverage of their albums has ranged from Rolling Stone to USA TODAY to The New York Times, from Blender Magazine to Playbill to Billboard, and many more. The company is recognized for reinventing the musical theatre recording landscape, and creating a new type of ‘United Artists' environment for Broadway producers and artists to participate in the funding and co-ownership of their albums.