Page: 1

Ragtime Music

Poppabear
Swing
Swing
Ragtime Music#1
Posted: 12/25/07 at 3:08pm
Are there any other fans of ragtime out there? I am new to the message board world and would appreciate any help to find this music. I have been to Itunes and particularly like the Ragtime Allstars work - great introduction. Anyone know of any ragtime specific boards? Thanks.....

vmlinnie
Broadway Legend
Broadway Legend
re: Ragtime Music#2
Posted: 12/25/07 at 3:53pm
I presume we're talking the Ragtime genre, not just the Musical?

Love both, but don't know any boards!
The rain we knew is a thing of the past -
deep-delving, dark, deliberate you would say
browsing on spire and bogland; but today
our sky-blue slates are steaming in the sun,
our yachts tinkling and dancing in the bay
like racehorses. We contemplate at last
shining windows, a future forbidden to no one.

Derek Mahon

"Maybe all one can do is hope to end up with the right regrets."

Arthur Miller
best12bars Profile Photobest12bars Profile Photo
best12bars
Broadway Legend
Broadway Legend
re: Ragtime Music#2
Posted: 12/25/07 at 8:15pm
When "The Sting" first was released in 1973, ragtime music had a resurgence. Several Scott Joplin tunes (arranged by Marvin Hamlisch who won an Oscar for his efforts) went up the Billboard charts.

As a ten year old kid, I actually got very into it. I played the piano back then, and suddenly I HAD to learn how to play ragtime. I started with "Solace" an easy but hauntingly beautiful Joplin tune. Then a few years later, my grandfather came to visit from New York. He had been a Nickelodeon piano player in his youth in New York City, playing for the silent films. He sat down and played Maple Leaf Rag for me, and I was mesmerized and profoundly impressed. I had such a connection to him at that very moment.