Click Here for More Articles on IDINA MENZEL

Presenters Announced for 2005 Tony Awards

Presenters for the 59th Annual Antoinette Perry "Tony" Awards® were announced today. Presenting the Tony Awards to the winners in each of the 25 categories will be: Alan Alda, Joan Allen, Christina Applegate, Angela Bassett, Matthew Broderick, Mario Cantone, Don Cheadle, Marcia Cross, Jon Cryer, Laurence Fishburne, Jeff Goldblum, Ann Hathaway, Dennis Haysbert, Ethan Hawke, Allison Janney, James Earl Jones, Nathan Lane, Laura Linney, Jesse Martin, Idina Menzel, Esai Morales, Megan Mullally, Bernadette Peters, David Hyde Pierce, Sandra Oh, Doris Roberts, Emmy Rossum, Keri Russell, Liev Schreiber, Tony Shaloub, Julia Stiles, Kathleen Turner, Leslie Uggams among others – making the 2005 Tony Awards Red Carpet the hottest in Broadway history.

Also, for the first time, there will be live, pre-show coverage of the Tony Awards red-carpet arrivals. TV Guide Channel will be the exclusive destination for national pre-show coverage with its one-hour special, "TV Guide LIVE at the Tony Awards" presented by SAAB which will air live from the Tony Awards Red Carpet from 7:00 – 8:00 p.m. (ET), delayed PT.

The 2005 Tony Awards are presented by the League of American Theatres and Producers and the American Theatre Wing. The Tony Awards, hosted by Hugh Jackman, will be broadcast live from Radio City Music Hall on CBS, Sunday, June 5th, 8:00 – 11:00 p.m. (ET/PT time delay).

SAAB CARS USA, Inc. is proud to support the Broadway community and the American Theatre Wing's 59th Annual Tony Awards. In honor of the 2005 Tony Award Nominees and in celebration of the release of SAAB's first-ever, all-new Saab 9-7X SUV this spring, SAAB has donated a 9-7X Linear to the Actor's Fund of America. SAAB is the official sponsor of TV Guide Channel's "TV Guide LIVE at the Tony Awards" presented by Saab pre-show broadcast on June 5, 2005.

As in previous years, – the official web site of Tony Awards - will also provide live streaming video coverage of the stars' arrivals at Radio City Music Hall.

The Antoinette Perry "Tony" Award is bestowed annually on theatre professionals for distinguished achievement. The Tony is one of the most coveted awards in the entertainment industry and the annual telecast is considered one of the most prestigious programs on television.

The Tonys are presented by the League of American Theatres and Producers and the American Theatre Wing. At the League, Gerald Schoenfeld is Chairman and Jed Bernstein is President. At the Wing, Sondra Gilman is Chairman, Doug Leeds is President and Howard Sherman is Executive Director. For Tony Award Productions, Elizabeth I. McCann is Managing Producer and Joey Parnes is Coordinating Producer.

Ricky Kirshner and Glenn Weiss/White Cherry Entertainment are Executive Producers of the 2005 Tony Awards. In addition, Glenn will serve as Director of the 2005 Tonys.

Related Articles

More Hot Stories For You

Before you go...

Like Us On Facebook
Follow Us On Twitter
Follow Us On Instagram instagram