Click Here for More Articles on 2012 AWARDS SEASON

Photo Flash: Inside the 2012 Lilly Awards!

Last night, Julia Jordan, Theresa Rebeck, Marsha Norman, Tim Sanford, Gary Garrison, The Dramatists Guild, and The Committee for Recognizing Women in Theatre presented the 3rd Annual Lilly Awards at Playwrights Horizons. Named for playwright Lillian Hellman, The Lilly Awards were created to recognize the extraordinary contributions made by women to the American Theater. Producers, playwrights, actors, designers, and directors were honored last night for their continued excellence in the theater community.

Check out phtoos from the event below!

Receiving lifetime achievement awards this year were actress Estelle Parsons and playwright Tina Howe. Ms. Parsons received her Lifetime Achievement award from Frances McDormand and Ms. Howe received her award from Robyn Goodman who was the producer of her first play Coastal Disturbances in New York. This year’s honorees included Katori Hall, Cristin Milioti, Sarah Benson, Leslye Headland, Heidi Ettinger, Diane Paulus, and Nina Arianda. David Ives was awarded the Miss Lilly award for supporting women in theater. The winners were presented with their awards by Frances McDormand, David Ives, Tonya Pinkins, Lucas Papaelias, Louisa Thompson, Trip Cullman, Robyn Goodman, Marsha Norman, Joyce Ketay, and Nina Arianda.

The Lilly Awards and The Committee for Recognizing Women in Theater were founded in 2010 by Julie Crosby, John Eisner, Gary Garrison, Tina Howe, Julia Jordan, Marsha Norman, Theresa Rebeck, Susan Rose, and Tim Sanford. Their mission is “to celebrate the work of outstanding, successful and up-and-coming women playwrights, directors, designers and advocates for the work of women in the theater.”

Related Articles

From This Author BWW News Desk

Before you go...